Parkland Tourism Association

Manitoba’s Parkland region is a rare and special place. Home to Riding Mountain National Park and several provincial parks, it offers pristine lakes, rolling grasslands and sprawling forest. European settlers brought their culture and architectural styles which still exist in the region’s celebrations and historic sites and churches. Don’t miss the Negrych Farmstead and the Inglis Elevators. World-class flyfishing, 400 km of Trans Canada Trail, numerous winter sports and superb hunting and fishing await your visit.

Parkland Tourism Association

"Don't Miss" Attractions

Asessippi Ski Area and Winter Park Manitoba Star Attraction

Inglis

Asessippi Ski Area and Winter Park, nestled deep in the Shell River Valley near Inglis, offers 25 runs for downhill skiing and snowboarding, with half-pipe and two terrain parks. There are three chair lifts, one quad, two triple lifts, three surface tows and one snow carpet. The winter park offers...

Asessippi Ski Area and Winter Park, nestled deep in the Shell River Valley near Inglis, offers 25 runs for downhill skiing and snowboarding, with half-pipe and two terrain parks. There are three chair lifts, one quad, two triple lifts, three surface tows and one snow carpet. The winter park offers three downhill snowtubing runs (ride up and slide down — no effort required!). With its charming winter village, the resort was the recipient of the Best New Attraction 2000 by Attractions Canada.

Directions:
Located between Russell and Roblin, just east of Inglis at Asessippi Provincial Park.

Phone:
204-564-2000

+

Fort Dauphin Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Dauphin

Built to resemble an 18th‑century fur trade post, the museum includes an authentic blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, a pioneer log house dating from 1892, and a one‑room school built in 1894. Also contains the Parkland Regional Laboratory, with information on more than 1,000 archaeological sites in the Parkland area.

Built to resemble an 18th‑century fur trade post, the museum includes an authentic blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, a pioneer log house dating from 1892, and a one‑room school built in 1894. Also contains the Parkland Regional Laboratory, with information on more than 1,000 archaeological sites in the Parkland area.

Directions:
Located at 4th Ave. S.W. and Jackson St.

Phone:
204-638-6630

+

Inglis Elevators National Historic Site of Canada Manitoba Star Attraction

Inglis

In the 1930s there were over 6,000 grain elevators in western Canada; now there are fewer than 850. At Inglis, the last remaining row of five standard plan grain elevators has been carefully restored. Guided tours, interpretive centre and arts and crafts gift shop.

In the 1930s there were over 6,000 grain elevators in western Canada; now there are fewer than 850. At Inglis, the last remaining row of five standard plan grain elevators has been carefully restored. Guided tours, interpretive centre and arts and crafts gift shop.

Hours:
Open Monday to Friday, July 1 to September and by appointment.

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-564-2243

+

Riding Mountain National Park of Canada Manitoba Star Attraction

Riding Mountain National Park

Since Riding Mountain was first declared a forest reserve in 1895, people have recognized the scenic beauty of the area, the importance of the habitat for wildlife, and the potential for recreation and relaxation to be found in these lands. In total, nearly 10 000 km2 (3,900 mile2) of the...

Since Riding Mountain was first declared a forest reserve in 1895, people have recognized the scenic beauty of the area, the importance of the habitat for wildlife, and the potential for recreation and relaxation to be found in these lands. In total, nearly 10 000 km2 (3,900 mile2) of the Parkland is shared by nationally- and provincially-designated parks and forest reserves. Your visit to the Parkland is sure to bring you to one or more of these areas. Below are listed some of the things you can expect to see and do while adventuring here in Nature’s playground.

Manitoba’s first national park achieved this status in 1933. It had previously been set aside as a forest reserve, amid the rapid deforestation of the surrounding area. The area of the Riding Mountains was held in great reverence by Native peoples.
The townsite of Wasagaming was developed during the Great Depression by work crews hired through a federal relief program. Several impressive log structures still exist from this era of the town’s development, giving the town a distinctive, rustic flavour.

The park itself covers 3 078 km2 (1,188 mile2), ranging from areas of open meadows to boreal forest, aspen parkland, and deciduous forest, besides the escarpment from which the park received its name. An abundance of wildlife can be found here, including deer, moose, elk, black bear and beaver. There are also a few Great Gray owls and wolves in the park. A small bison herd is kept at Lake Audy. The park offers unique experiences for families, photographers, birders and wildlife enthusiasts.

Campgrounds can be found throughout the park, and an extensive trail system offers a variety of scenic routes for hiking, cycling, horseback riding, cross-country skiing and birding. Over 400 km (250 miles) of summer trails and 260 km (163 miles) of cross-country ski trails are available.

Phone:
204-848-7275

Fax:
204-848-2596

+

Swan Valley Historical Museum

Swan River

This complex includes a dozen historic display buildings along with the added rural touch of 15 acres of wheat and corn. Buildings include a blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, the original CN Railway station from Bowsman (built in 1896), and the original Benito telephone building. Artifacts include authentic clay bake ovens, and the Princess, which sailed with the Dawson Bay Fishing Fleet on Lake Winnipegosis.

This complex includes a dozen historic display buildings along with the added rural touch of 15 acres of wheat and corn. Buildings include a blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, the original CN Railway station from Bowsman (built in 1896), and the original Benito telephone building. Artifacts include authentic clay bake ovens, and the Princess, which sailed with the Dawson Bay Fishing Fleet on Lake Winnipegosis.

Directions:
Located 1.6 km (1 mile) north of Swan River on PTH10.

Hours:
Open May ‑ September.

Phone:
204-734-3585

Phone:
204-281-0176

+

Featured Events

Stay Connected