Things to Do | Historic and Heritage Sites

Historic and Heritage Sites

Arnes Lutheran Pioneer Memorial Church

Arborg

Founded in 1900. One of the early Icelandic churches.

Founded in 1900. One of the early Icelandic churches.

Directions:
Arnes Road 222 North

+

Asessippi Town Site

Inglis

The remnants of the abandoned town can be found along the shores of the Shell River just west of PTH83 near Inglis. The community sprang up in anticipation of the coming rail line, but then disappeared soon after the railway was diverted elsewhere.

The remnants of the abandoned town can be found along the shores of the Shell River just west of PTH83 near Inglis. The community sprang up in anticipation of the coming rail line, but then disappeared soon after the railway was diverted elsewhere.

Directions:
Located just west of PTH83 near Inglis.

+

Boulton Manor

Russell

Major Charles Boulton, founder of the town of Russell, brought troops to Batoche during the Northwest Rebellion of 1885. His former home is now a bed and breakfast.

Major Charles Boulton, founder of the town of Russell, brought troops to Batoche during the Northwest Rebellion of 1885. His former home is now a bed and breakfast.

Directions:
Located at 322 Memorial Ave.

Phone:
204-773-3267

+

Breland Log House

St. François Xavier  | Municipal Heritage Site

The housewas reconstructed in 1998-2000. A replica of an ox cart is on display at this site.
The housewas reconstructed in 1998-2000. A replica of an ox cart is on display at this site.
Directions:
Highway #26 and Caron Drive, Medicine Rock Heritage Park

+

Cape Merry National Historic Site of Canada Manitoba Star Attraction

Churchill  | National Heritage Site

Once called Knight's Round Point (for James Knight who, in 1717, began construction of a fur trading post for the Hudson's Bay Company), the cape was later renamed for Captain John Merry, Deputy Governor of the Hudson's Bay Company from 1712-18. The remnants of a gun powder magazine can still be...
Once called Knight's Round Point (for James Knight who, in 1717, began construction of a fur trading post for the Hudson's Bay Company), the cape was later renamed for Captain John Merry, Deputy Governor of the Hudson's Bay Company from 1712-18. The remnants of a gun powder magazine can still be seen at the site. In 1959-60, a single battery was rebuilt using stone blocks found at the site. Its lone cannon, one of the orginal 42 from Prince of Wales Fort, stands today. Among the Cape's distinctions is that it was the site of the first Lutheran service delivered in western Canada. The service was performed by a Rev. Rasmus Jensen, a minister with the crew of Jens Munck, a European trying to find the Northwest Passage. A stone cairn at the cape commemorates the crew and Fort Churchill.
Directions:
Located on the east shore of the Churchill River, across from Prince of Wales Fort.

Hours:
Guided tours available. Contact the Parks Canada office.

Phone:
204-675-8863

Fax:
204-675-2026

+

Captain Kennedy House & Maple Grove Tea Room

St. Andrews

Come enjoy a cup of tea, lunch and something sweet in a beautiful riverside setting on historic River Road. Built in 1866 by explorer, entrepreneur and trader, Captain William Kennedy, this picturesque Provincial Heritage House is a museum and tea room overlooking beautifully landscaped English gardens and the historic Red River. Dine in the sun room or out on the terrace. Located at 417 River Road in St. Andrews.

Come enjoy a cup of tea, lunch and something sweet in a beautiful riverside setting on historic River Road. Built in 1866 by explorer, entrepreneur and trader, Captain William Kennedy, this picturesque Provincial Heritage House is a museum and tea room overlooking beautifully landscaped English gardens and the historic Red River. Dine in the sun room or out on the terrace. Located at 417 River Road in St. Andrews.

Directions:
Located at 417 River Road in St. Andrews.

Latitude:
50.052417

Longitude:
-96.990000

Hours:
Open Tuesday to Sunday (Mondays of long weekends) from Mother?s Day weekend in May to end of September.

Phone:
(204) 334-2498

+

Chalmers Presbyterian Church

Treherne  | Municipal Heritage Site

The first Presbyterian service was held in Treherne in the early 1880s, and a modest wooden church built in 1887, was replaced in 1907 with this building, called Chalmers Presbyterian. Architecturally, the church is an ambitious interpretation of a typical L-shaped plan, with a handsome tower set...

The first Presbyterian service was held in Treherne in the early 1880s, and a modest wooden church built in 1887, was replaced in 1907 with this building, called Chalmers Presbyterian. Architecturally, the church is an ambitious interpretation of a typical L-shaped plan, with a handsome tower set into the apex of the ell. The Gothic Revival styling, de rigueur for Protestant churches, is seen here in the pointed Tudor windows and in the main door. The skillful handling of the building is no surprise, being the work of renowned Winnipeg architect J.H.G. Russell. Russell was the man often called upon in the design of major Presbyterian churches. This building is now a United Church, celebrating its centennial in 2007.

+

CNR Station and Park

Dauphin

This station, constructed in 1912 and now a local historical site, provided a vital link for settlers immigrating to the Parkland region. The adjacent park path meanders around a variety of fruit trees.

This station, constructed in 1912 and now a local historical site, provided a vital link for settlers immigrating to the Parkland region. The adjacent park path meanders around a variety of fruit trees.

Directions:
Located at 101‑1st Ave. NW.

+

Dauphin Court House Building

Dauphin

Built in the Neo‑classical style, the stately Dauphin Court House Building was designed in 1916 by local architect J.H. Bossons, and officially opened in 1917.

Built in the Neo‑classical style, the stately Dauphin Court House Building was designed in 1916 by local architect J.H. Bossons, and officially opened in 1917.

Directions:
Located at 114 River Avenue W. Public tours are not available.

+

East Gate Registration Complex National Historic Site of Canada

Riding Mountain National Park

The east gate to Riding Mountain National Park (on PTH19, west of McCreary), an overhanging log structure built in 1933, is the only structure of its kind remaining in Canada. The drive through the park on PTH19 offers scenic vistas along the Manitoba escarpment.

The east gate to Riding Mountain National Park (on PTH19, west of McCreary), an overhanging log structure built in 1933, is the only structure of its kind remaining in Canada. The drive through the park on PTH19 offers scenic vistas along the Manitoba escarpment.

Directions:
On PTH19, west of McCreary, at the park's eastern entrance.

+

Flee Island Dakota Entrenchment

Portage la Prairie  | Provincial Heritage Site

The eastern Dakota (Sioux) of Minnesota traditionally built “cunkaské” (pronounced choonkashkay)-wooden palisades, piles of stones and earthen entrenchments- around their camps and villages for protection against elements, wild animals, and potential enemies. One group was even...
The eastern Dakota (Sioux) of Minnesota traditionally built “cunkaské” (pronounced choonkashkay)-wooden palisades, piles of stones and earthen entrenchments- around their camps and villages for protection against elements, wild animals, and potential enemies. One group was even referred to as the “Cunkaskétonwan,” Nation of the Forts. In the summer of 1862, many Dakota openly rebelled against the intolerable treatment they had received from American authorities. As a result, several hundred Dakota refugees moved north to the relative safety of the Red River Settlement. In the spring of 1864, following an attack by Chippewa (Anishinabe) bounty hunters from Minnesota, the Dakota constructed fortified camps in the Portage la Prairie district. Each camp was enclosed by a circular trench and embankment behind which armed defenders could position themselves. Inside this circle was a ring of pits where the women and children could take refuge in the event of an attack. The Flee Island Entrenchment is nearly circular with a diameter of 73 metres. It is not quite continuous, however, as the eastern portion has been incorporated into the adjacent field. Depth of the intact trench varies from 0.3 to 1.0 metres, and there was a semi-continuous bank of earth on the outside. A number of deep, circular pits are also located on the inside, close to the trench.
+

Former Dominion Post Office Building

Portage la Prairie  | Municipal Heritage Site

This Portage la Prairie building is an example of Fuller’s interpretation of the Romanesque Revival style. The 2-1⁄2 storey hammer-faced limestone building features a steep mansard roof and central gable. Political controversy in Ottawa delayed construction, but the building was finally opened in 1898. This building is now Portage la Prairie’s City Hall.
This Portage la Prairie building is an example of Fuller’s interpretation of the Romanesque Revival style. The 2-1⁄2 storey hammer-faced limestone building features a steep mansard roof and central gable. Political controversy in Ottawa delayed construction, but the building was finally opened in 1898. This building is now Portage la Prairie’s City Hall.
+

Former Grey Nuns' Convent

St. François Xavier  | Municipal Heritage Site

The former Grey Nuns' Convent is a simple, yet attractive structure constructed in 1916 for the Grey Nuns of the St. François Xavier Parish. When the parish was established in 1828, it was the most westerly church parish in the Red River Settlement. In 1850 the Grey Nuns arrived in St....
The former Grey Nuns' Convent is a simple, yet attractive structure constructed in 1916 for the Grey Nuns of the St. François Xavier Parish. When the parish was established in 1828, it was the most westerly church parish in the Red River Settlement. In 1850 the Grey Nuns arrived in St. François Xavier, then known as Grantown, where they ministered to the spiritual and educational needs of Métis society. The original exterior of the two-storey, wood-frame structure has remained unaltered. The gables of the building have a simple Tudor-style detailing.
Directions:
1033 Highway #26

+

Former Qually Brothers Store

Dacotah  | Municipal Heritage Site

This modest but unusual building was for many years the central gathering spot for the community of Dacotah. Built in 1935 for the Qually Brothers new retail establishment, the operation sold general merchandise and wasalso the local International Harvester dealer. Qually’s store also housed...
This modest but unusual building was for many years the central gathering spot for the community of Dacotah. Built in 1935 for the Qually Brothers new retail establishment, the operation sold general merchandise and wasalso the local International Harvester dealer. Qually’s store also housed the telephone operator’s office for a locally established “farmer’s line” system. Today, the old store, which is being restored, is the only remaining commercial building to mark the community’s main street.
+

Galloway Bros. Department Store

Gladstone  | Provincial Heritage Site

The formerGalloway Bros. Department Store was constructed in 1902 to designs prepared by George W. Gouinlock (1861-1932), a prominent Canadian architect. It remains one of the earliest department store buildings outside a major urban centre in Manitoba.
The formerGalloway Bros. Department Store was constructed in 1902 to designs prepared by George W. Gouinlock (1861-1932), a prominent Canadian architect. It remains one of the earliest department store buildings outside a major urban centre in Manitoba.
+

Gilbert Plains Beef Ring Building

Gilbert Plains

The Gilbert Plains Beef Ring Building represents the innovation of prairie pioneers in coping with their environment. This building was a small slaughterhouse, where each week during the summer a member of the Beef Ring supplied a steer that was kept overnight and processed the next day. Each...

The Gilbert Plains Beef Ring Building represents the innovation of prairie pioneers in coping with their environment. This building was a small slaughterhouse, where each week during the summer a member of the Beef Ring supplied a steer that was kept overnight and processed the next day. Each member’s portion was placed in his sugar sack and hung on the row of nails along two walls. The Beef Ring operated from 1923 until 1951 when rural electrification made it unnecessary.  Call to arrange a tour.

Directions:
From PTH5, take PR274 south to Road 129W and go east on the Russell Trail.

Phone:
204-548-2063

+

Hecla Community Church

Hecla

Build in the late 1870's to serve the need of the Icelandic settlers on the Island and it remains today to hold non-denominational worship services every Sunday in the summer.

Build in the late 1870's to serve the need of the Icelandic settlers on the Island and it remains today to hold non-denominational worship services every Sunday in the summer.

Directions:
Hecla Island Village

+

Hecla Village

Hecla

Hecla was first settled in 1876 by immigrants from Iceland and was part of "New Iceland" – which also included Gimli, Lundi (modern day Riverton) and Arborg. Today, Hecla Historic Village with the Community Hall, a log house, old Hecla Schoolhouse, Tomosson's Boarding House, Hecla Church,...

Hecla was first settled in 1876 by immigrants from Iceland and was part of "New Iceland" – which also included Gimli, Lundi (modern day Riverton) and Arborg. Today, Hecla Historic Village with the Community Hall, a log house, old Hecla Schoolhouse, Tomosson's Boarding House, Hecla Church, dock, ice house, fishing boats, tool shed, with Hecla General Store and Solmundson Gesta Hus (Guest house). Take a self-guided walking tour or tour with a guide from Hecla/Grindstone Provincial Park. Services every Sunday in summer at 11:00 in Hecla Church. Camp in Hecla Provincial Park.

+

Herdukried Lutheran Church

Langruth  | Municipal Heritage Site

Former Herdukried Lutheran Church, Municipal Heritage Site. The construction of this church began in 1929. Congregation member Carl Lindal, a master cabinet builder, designed and constructed the platform enclosure and pulpit. The church was dedicated in the summer of 1930. “Herdukried”...

Former Herdukried Lutheran Church, Municipal Heritage Site. The construction of this church began in 1929. Congregation member Carl Lindal, a master cabinet builder, designed and constructed the platform enclosure and pulpit. The church was dedicated in the summer of 1930. “Herdukried” is the name of a mountain in Iceland and, in the Icelandic language, means ’wide shoulders.’ Church buildings were of a simple design-a wood-frame, rectangular-shaped structure with a tower and a gable roof. Buildings were enlivened with Gothic Revival elements, such as pointed arched entrances and windows and crenellated porch sections.

+

Holland Emmanual Historical Site (formally Emmanuel Anglican Church)

Holland  | Municipal Heritage Site

Holland Emmanuel Historical Site was the former Anglican Church in Holland.  Built in 1894 it is a beautiful wood structure with stone basement.  It boasts a high arched ceiling and beautiful stained glass windows.  

  The building is now privately owned by Holland Emmanuel Friends Inc.
Holland Emmanuel Historical Site was the former Anglican Church in Holland.  Built in 1894 it is a beautiful wood structure with stone basement.  It boasts a high arched ceiling and beautiful stained glass windows.  

  The building is now privately owned by Holland Emmanuel Friends Inc.
Directions:
For rental information, please call 204-526-2717 or 204-526-2399

Hours:
Holland Emmanuel is open to the public from the May long weekend until the September long weekend, 9 am to 5 pm seven says a week.

+

Inglis Elevators National Historic Site of Canada Manitoba Star Attraction

Inglis

In the 1930s there were over 6,000 grain elevators in western Canada; now there are fewer than 850. At Inglis, the last remaining row of five standard plan grain elevators has been carefully restored. Guided tours, interpretive centre and arts and crafts gift shop.

In the 1930s there were over 6,000 grain elevators in western Canada; now there are fewer than 850. At Inglis, the last remaining row of five standard plan grain elevators has been carefully restored. Guided tours, interpretive centre and arts and crafts gift shop.

Hours:
Open Monday to Friday, July 1 to September and by appointment.

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-564-2243

+

Ivan Franko Heritage Hall (Ukrainian National Heritage Home)

Angusville

This community hall is often mistaken for an Orthodox-style church because of its three onion domes. Halls like this one were common in many Ukrainian communities in the area, and always played a central role in preserving Ukrainian culture in Canada. This hall was built in 1934, and still features the original curtain and stage, as well as memorabilia celebrating famous Ukrainian poets such as Franko and Chevchenko.

This community hall is often mistaken for an Orthodox-style church because of its three onion domes. Halls like this one were common in many Ukrainian communities in the area, and always played a central role in preserving Ukrainian culture in Canada. This hall was built in 1934, and still features the original curtain and stage, as well as memorabilia celebrating famous Ukrainian poets such as Franko and Chevchenko.

Phone:
204-773-2764

+

Knox Presbyterian Church

Stonewall

Built in 1883 as a presbyterian Church on land donated by town founder S.J. Jackson

Built in 1883 as a presbyterian Church on land donated by town founder S.J. Jackson

Directions:
308 2nd Ave North, Stonewall

+

Ledarney Manor

Teulon

Imagine your wedding photos at a stunning century old Victorian manor! Built in 1908, it embodies architectural grace and elegance. A professionally restored three story home resplendent with a solid oak curved stairwell and furnished to the era. A perfect heritage home for meetings, small parties,...

Imagine your wedding photos at a stunning century old Victorian manor! Built in 1908, it embodies architectural grace and elegance. A professionally restored three story home resplendent with a solid oak curved stairwell and furnished to the era. A perfect heritage home for meetings, small parties, or for a relaxing getaway, this home is open as a Bed & Breakfast, complete with a marble fireplace in the sitting room, a parlour and a large wrap around veranda overlooking spacious gardens.“The Haunting in Connecticut”, filmed here several years ago, included scenes from the dungeon (basement). Net proceeds go to Nova House in Selkirk to support women and children in crisis.

Directions:
Located at 44-1st Street S.E.

Latitude:
50.387617

Longitude:
-97.260633

Phone:
204-886-2296

+

Life & Art Centre

Roblin

Built in 1908 as the Knox United Church, this historic building is
now home to the Life & Art Centre.

Built in 1908 as the Knox United Church, this historic building is
now home to the Life & Art Centre.

Directions:
Located at 106‑3rd Ave. NW.

+

Little Britain Church

Lockport

Built between 1872-1874 with the tower added in 1920 as a World War I memorial. The architectural style originates from medieval Gothic traditions and one of only five surviving original Red River Settlement area stone churches. The oldest United Church in Manitoba and Western Canada, is still used for weekly services. They have mapped most of the cemetery for Genealogy studies.

Built between 1872-1874 with the tower added in 1920 as a World War I memorial. The architectural style originates from medieval Gothic traditions and one of only five surviving original Red River Settlement area stone churches. The oldest United Church in Manitoba and Western Canada, is still used for weekly services. They have mapped most of the cemetery for Genealogy studies.

Directions:
Located at 5879 PTH9 north of Lockport.

Phone:
204-757-2489

+

Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site Manitoba Star Attraction

St. Andrews  | National Heritage Site

Canada Heritage named LFGNHS one of the top ten (10) Heritage sites across Canada in 2011. The Red River settlement area around LFGNHS celebrated its bicentenary in 2012, 200 years of history to experience with costumed interpreters to transport you back to the mid-1800s as they re-enact life at...

Canada Heritage named LFGNHS one of the top ten (10) Heritage sites across Canada in 2011. The Red River settlement area around LFGNHS celebrated its bicentenary in 2012, 200 years of history to experience with costumed interpreters to transport you back to the mid-1800s as they re-enact life at this 19th century Hudson’s Bay Company trading post. As the oldest stone fur trading post still intact in North America, Lower Fort Garry is a must-see for any history buff. Visit the “Big House” for tea with the Governor’s wife or help make bannock on a special day set aside for this. This inspiring riverside location is the site where Treaty #1 was signed between the Ojibwa and Swampy Cree of Manitoba and the Crown. Open May to September & special events, Halloween Ghost Tales in October and A Fur Trade Christmas in mid-December.

Latitude:
50.112833

Longitude:
-96.932900

+

Lt. Col. Wm. (Billy) Barker VC Commemorative Plaque

Dauphin

This plaque commemorates Barker’s national recognition as one of the most celebrated war heroes of World War I. An ace pilot, this young man from Dauphin gained international prominence and recognition and was awarded the Victoria Cross.

This plaque commemorates Barker’s national recognition as one of the most celebrated war heroes of World War I. An ace pilot, this young man from Dauphin gained international prominence and recognition and was awarded the Victoria Cross.

Directions:
Located at Dauphin Airport on PTH10 south of Dauphin.

+

Macdonald Pioneer Cemetery

Macdonald  | Municipal Heritage Site

The cemetery was formed in the late 1880s, and was originally associated with a church, but quickly came to be operated by the local community. The cemetery contains about 30 graves, many of them marked with beautiful granite headstones and monuments.
The cemetery was formed in the late 1880s, and was originally associated with a church, but quickly came to be operated by the local community. The cemetery contains about 30 graves, many of them marked with beautiful granite headstones and monuments.
+

Mary Maxim Company

Sifton

The famous Mary Maxim Company, known for its unique sweater designs, had its beginnings in Sifton around 1935 when a young CNR station master name Willard McPhedraine founded the company. By 1955 Mary Maxim had grown immensely and the business moved to
Dauphin. In 1959, the company expanded once again and moved to Paris, Ontario where it still exists today.

The famous Mary Maxim Company, known for its unique sweater designs, had its beginnings in Sifton around 1935 when a young CNR station master name Willard McPhedraine founded the company. By 1955 Mary Maxim had grown immensely and the business moved to
Dauphin. In 1959, the company expanded once again and moved to Paris, Ontario where it still exists today.

+

Medd House Museum

Winnipegosis

The 1912 grand two story wooden home is fully furnished and was the home to Dr. Medd, Winnipegosis' first doctor. Check out these websites www.winnipegosis.org & www.discoverwinnipegosis.com & www.mhs.mb.ca

.

The 1912 grand two story wooden home is fully furnished and was the home to Dr. Medd, Winnipegosis' first doctor. Check out these websites www.winnipegosis.org & www.discoverwinnipegosis.com & www.mhs.mb.ca

.

Hours:
June - September long weekend, Monday - Friday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. & 1p.m. - 5 p.m. Saturday & Sunday are by appointment.

Phone:
204-656-4273

+

Negrych Pioneer Farmstead

Gilbert Plains

The Negrych Farmstead is one of the most impressive folk sites in North America. At this national historic site, you’ll find the oldest and most complete set of farm buildings on the continent built in the Ukrainian style of the Carpathian Mountain region.

The Negrych Farmstead is one of the most impressive folk sites in North America. At this national historic site, you’ll find the oldest and most complete set of farm buildings on the continent built in the Ukrainian style of the Carpathian Mountain region.

Directions:
From Gilbert Plains, travel 17 km (10.5 miles) north on PR274, then follow the signs 3 km (2 miles) east.

+

Original Gaol

Saint-Claude

The original Gaol (or prison) was built in 1913, and was restored in 2006. The Gaol houses two cells, one complete with prisoner’s bunk and “biffy”. Displays explain the history of the gaol and indicate some of the incidents that happened and characters who ’inhabited’ the building. The building also houses a tourist office.
The original Gaol (or prison) was built in 1913, and was restored in 2006. The Gaol houses two cells, one complete with prisoner’s bunk and “biffy”. Displays explain the history of the gaol and indicate some of the incidents that happened and characters who ’inhabited’ the building. The building also houses a tourist office.
+

Park Theatre

Wasagaming

The Park Theatre was built in 1936‑37 of saddle‑notched logs to designs prepared by the National Parks’ Architectural Division. It was the only log cinema built in a national park, if not in all of Canada. The theatre auditorium features exposed log beams and rafters with decorative wrought ironwork.

The Park Theatre was built in 1936‑37 of saddle‑notched logs to designs prepared by the National Parks’ Architectural Division. It was the only log cinema built in a national park, if not in all of Canada. The theatre auditorium features exposed log beams and rafters with decorative wrought ironwork.

Directions:
Located at 117 Wasagaming Drive.

Phone:
204-848-2423

+

Pioneer Cemetery (North)

Sandy Lake

This location is believed to have been chosen
by the Métis and French Canadians who settled in the area in the late 1800s. New iron markers have replaced many of the original wooden markers; rocks or original granite headstones mark some graves. The Russo‑Greek Orthodox parish once had a small log chapel at the foot of the knoll on which the cemetery was built.

This location is believed to have been chosen
by the Métis and French Canadians who settled in the area in the late 1800s. New iron markers have replaced many of the original wooden markers; rocks or original granite headstones mark some graves. The Russo‑Greek Orthodox parish once had a small log chapel at the foot of the knoll on which the cemetery was built.

Directions:
Located north of Sandy Lake of PR250. Watch for sign.

Phone:
204-849-2107

+

Poplar Point Memorial Rink

Poplar Point  | Municipal Heritage Site

Shortly after the end of World War II, local citizens decided that a building devoted to the health of the young would be a more fitting tribute to the fallen than a statue. The building went up in 1949, and its glory is inside, where laminated 1"x8" boards soar to a height of 17 metres (50 feet), creating an open and airy space.

Shortly after the end of World War II, local citizens decided that a building devoted to the health of the young would be a more fitting tribute to the fallen than a statue. The building went up in 1949, and its glory is inside, where laminated 1"x8" boards soar to a height of 17 metres (50 feet), creating an open and airy space.

+

Portage Land Titles Building

Portage la Prairie  | Provincial Heritage Site

The former Portage Land Titles Building, constructed in 1889, is a fine example of this building type. The original design was ultimately considered too plain in its facade design, and was refronted in 1906. Although modest in size the building has Neo-Classical distinction with a pedimented entrance, a deep cornice supported by brick pilasters and urns on the parapet.

The former Portage Land Titles Building, constructed in 1889, is a fine example of this building type. The original design was ultimately considered too plain in its facade design, and was refronted in 1906. Although modest in size the building has Neo-Classical distinction with a pedimented entrance, a deep cornice supported by brick pilasters and urns on the parapet.

+

Red Deer Lake Heritage Site

Barrows

The former community of Barrows sprang up almost overnight at the site of the Red Deer Lumber Co., on the south shore of Red Deer Lake. It disappeared just as quickly when the company shut down the mill in 1926. One of the remaining stone structures from the former community bears a plaque designating this as a heritage site.

The former community of Barrows sprang up almost overnight at the site of the Red Deer Lumber Co., on the south shore of Red Deer Lake. It disappeared just as quickly when the company shut down the mill in 1926. One of the remaining stone structures from the former community bears a plaque designating this as a heritage site.

Directions:
Located at Red Deer Lake, approximately 8 km (5 miles) north of the community of Barrows.

+

River Road Heritage Parkway

St. Andrews

This heritage trail follows the scenic Red River, once a Red River cart path, offering visitors many interpretive displays, walkways, and historic landmarks along the way. Turn off on PTH9 onto PR238 north of Perimeter Highway 101. Along the Parkway you will see The Hay House (a private residence), St. Andrews-on-the-Red Anglican Church, St. Andrews Rectory & Twin Oaks (built in 1850s as a private girls school) and Captain Kennedy House.

This heritage trail follows the scenic Red River, once a Red River cart path, offering visitors many interpretive displays, walkways, and historic landmarks along the way. Turn off on PTH9 onto PR238 north of Perimeter Highway 101. Along the Parkway you will see The Hay House (a private residence), St. Andrews-on-the-Red Anglican Church, St. Andrews Rectory & Twin Oaks (built in 1850s as a private girls school) and Captain Kennedy House.

+

Satterthwaite Log Cabin

McCreary

This pioneer log cabin was restored using hewn half‑lap dovetail techniques to depict 1800s forest cover and building methods. There are pioneer gardens, memorial plaques, and a sheltered, grassed stopping area on site.

This pioneer log cabin was restored using hewn half‑lap dovetail techniques to depict 1800s forest cover and building methods. There are pioneer gardens, memorial plaques, and a sheltered, grassed stopping area on site.

Directions:
Located 5 km (3 miles) south of McCreary on PTH5 (on Burrows Trail).

Hours:
Open 11 am to 4 pm on Saturdays in July and August, or by appointment.

Phone:
204-835-2341

+

Selo Ukraina Ukrainian Heritage Village and Memorial Park

Dauphin

An outdoor 10,000‑seat amphitheatre, auditorium and multipurpose facilities offer a unique venue for festivals and entertainment such as Canada’s National Ukrainian Festival and Dauphin’s Countryfest. Located on the northern escarpment of Riding Mountain, the site includes a pioneer village and Ukrainian artifact museum. A memorial site pays tribute to historic people and events.  Call for tour information.

An outdoor 10,000‑seat amphitheatre, auditorium and multipurpose facilities offer a unique venue for festivals and entertainment such as Canada’s National Ukrainian Festival and Dauphin’s Countryfest. Located on the northern escarpment of Riding Mountain, the site includes a pioneer village and Ukrainian artifact museum. A memorial site pays tribute to historic people and events.  Call for tour information.

Directions:
Located 12 km (7 miles) south of Dauphin on PTH10.

Phone:
204-638-1345

+

Sloop Cove National Historic Site of Canada

Churchill  | National Heritage Site

A sloop was a wooden sailing vessel used during the fur trade. Sloop Cove was a sheltered, safe harbour for Hudson's Bay Company sloops during the 18th century. Rocks at the cove bear the signatures of HBC men including Samuel Hearne who was just 22 years old when he carved his name here. Hearne...

A sloop was a wooden sailing vessel used during the fur trade. Sloop Cove was a sheltered, safe harbour for Hudson's Bay Company sloops during the 18th century. Rocks at the cove bear the signatures of HBC men including Samuel Hearne who was just 22 years old when he carved his name here. Hearne was employed by the HBC and was governor of Prince of Wales Fort from 1775 until 1782 when the Fort was destroyed by the French. He later established Fort Churchill.

Tours to the cove can be arranged with private tour operators, as access can only be gained by boat or helicopter. 

Directions:
Located 4 kms (2.5 miles) upriver from Prince of Wales Fort National Historic Site of Canada.

Admission:
Fee charged for guided tour.

Phone:
204-675-8863

Fax:
204-675-2026

Website:

+

St. Ambroise Dakota Entrenchment

St. Ambroise  | Provincial Heritage Site

Although there is no clear evidence that the St. Ambroise Entrenchment was ever used defensively, it may have been. Historical documentation indicates that a group of Dakota, led by a man called “The Leaf,” moved onto Lake Manitoba in February of 1864 to fish. Early one morning during...
Although there is no clear evidence that the St. Ambroise Entrenchment was ever used defensively, it may have been. Historical documentation indicates that a group of Dakota, led by a man called “The Leaf,” moved onto Lake Manitoba in February of 1864 to fish. Early one morning during the last week of April or the first week of May, their camp was attacked by a group of Chippewa (Anishinabe) bounty hunters from Minnesota. Six Dakota were killed outright and several succumbed to serious wounds shortly thereafter. The May 10, 1864 issue of The Nor’Wester reported this raid and noted that the Dakota were “busily engaged in fortifying their present encampment by digging rude earthworks and rifle pits.” Although it is not known if the St. Ambroise fortification was built in the spring of 1864, it did exist in 1873, when a “stonemound of Indians” was recorded at this location by William Wagner during his land survey of the shoreline of Lake Manitoba. The St. Ambroise Entrenchment is a continuous circle, 114 metres in diameter, containing several interior pits and an earthen embankment around its outer edge. Two circular pits are located outside the entrenchment-a larger one, 64 metres to the northwest, and a smaller one 20 metres to the east. The purpose of these pits is unclear; some have suggested that they were wells or, perhaps, observation posts.
+

St. Andrews Lock & Dam

St. Andrews

At 100 years in 2010, this connection across the Red River is not just a bridge, but a lifeline for residents and visitors. The project is one of three of its type in the world and took ten years to build, calling for a movable dam that could raise its floodgates at any time, very important due to...

At 100 years in 2010, this connection across the Red River is not just a bridge, but a lifeline for residents and visitors. The project is one of three of its type in the world and took ten years to build, calling for a movable dam that could raise its floodgates at any time, very important due to the ice jams in the spring that can cause damage to a permanent structure. With an under estimated cost of $150,000 put forward in 1910, the budget was broken when the final cost on completion came in at a whopping $3.5 million. Built to regulate water levels to allow for larger size ships to pass, St. Andrews Lock & Dam at Lockport has provided access for freight and passengers to open up trade routes from Winnipeg to Lake Winnipeg. Superb fishing in this area.

Latitude:
50.087600

Longitude:
-96.953133

+

St. Andrews-on-the-Red Anglican Church

St. Andrews

Built between1844-1849, this is the oldest stone church in Western Canada still used for public worship. The kneeling benches are covered in buffalo hide, many original fixtures remain. Many of the early Red River pioneers in Manitoba rest in the graveyard here.  Donations welcome.

Built between1844-1849, this is the oldest stone church in Western Canada still used for public worship. The kneeling benches are covered in buffalo hide, many original fixtures remain. Many of the early Red River pioneers in Manitoba rest in the graveyard here.  Donations welcome.

Directions:
Located on St. Andrews Rd. & River Road, on the River Road Heritage Parkway.

Hours:
Open mid-May to end of August and Labour Day.

Phone:
204-334-6405

+

St. Anne's Anglican Church

Poplar Point  | Provincial and Municipal Heritage Site

The oldest log church west of the Great Lakes on the Prairies, St. Anne’s was built in 1859. It is a rare example of Red River frame log construction, popular throughout the west from 1820 to 1870. The church contains many original elements and fixtures including hand-made pews, a vestry screen decorated with jack-knife cut crosses and a font carved from a single large oak log.
The oldest log church west of the Great Lakes on the Prairies, St. Anne’s was built in 1859. It is a rare example of Red River frame log construction, popular throughout the west from 1820 to 1870. The church contains many original elements and fixtures including hand-made pews, a vestry screen decorated with jack-knife cut crosses and a font carved from a single large oak log.
+

St. Bartholomew's Angelican Church

Winnipeg Beach

Celebrated their centenary in 2010

Celebrated their centenary in 2010

+

St. Clements Anglican Church

St. Andrews

Built between 1862 - 1863 as the offical church for the employees of the Hudson's Bay Company working at nearby Lower Fort Garry. Construction was started in 1857, however the bell tower was not finished until 1920.

Built between 1862 - 1863 as the offical church for the employees of the Hudson's Bay Company working at nearby Lower Fort Garry. Construction was started in 1857, however the bell tower was not finished until 1920.

Directions:
1178 River Road. St. Andrews

+

St. Cyprian Anglican Church

Teulon

A very picturesque church constructed in 1899 two miles east of town, first service held on Feb.4,1900. Moved to its present location Jan 24, 1909, services began the following Sunday.

A very picturesque church constructed in 1899 two miles east of town, first service held on Feb.4,1900. Moved to its present location Jan 24, 1909, services began the following Sunday.

Directions:
Located at 60-2nd Street S.E.

Phone:
204-886-3203

+

St. Demetrius Parish Church

Arborg

Arborg & District Multicultural Heritage Museum. Started in 1918 in Bjarmi; finished in 1920 as a Roman Catholic Church and moved to the Heritage Village in Arborg in 2007.

Arborg & District Multicultural Heritage Museum. Started in 1918 in Bjarmi; finished in 1920 as a Roman Catholic Church and moved to the Heritage Village in Arborg in 2007.

+

St. Elijah Romanian Orthodox Church and Romanian Folk House

Inglis

This is the only church of its kind in North America, together with a traditional Romanian home. The church was built in 1908 and is a replica of Romanian Orthodox churches in Bukovyna, with a simple rectangular shape with a rounded end, interior sculptured rafters, processional crosses and icons. The house, built in 1906, is typically Romanian in construction, with the characteristic deep‑sloping roof on all four sides with rounded, shingled corners.

This is the only church of its kind in North America, together with a traditional Romanian home. The church was built in 1908 and is a replica of Romanian Orthodox churches in Bukovyna, with a simple rectangular shape with a rounded end, interior sculptured rafters, processional crosses and icons. The house, built in 1906, is typically Romanian in construction, with the characteristic deep‑sloping roof on all four sides with rounded, shingled corners.

Directions:
Located 5 km (3 miles) north (PR592) and 1 km (3/4 mile) west of Inglis.

Phone:
204-564-2228

+

St. Helen's Anglican Church

Fairford

First church established in 1842 with the present day one dating from1917. Located south of the Fairford River, surrounded by the Pinaymootang First Nation it is a designated Municipal Heritage Site. Served as a mission for the aboriginal residents f the area, the Gothic Revival style is common to...

First church established in 1842 with the present day one dating from
1917. Located south of the Fairford River, surrounded by the Pinaymootang First Nation it is a designated Municipal Heritage Site. Served as a mission for the aboriginal residents f the area, the Gothic Revival style is common to early Anglican churches. Erected within the stone foundation of an earlier log structure (1862) which had replaced original church. The adjacent graveyard contains the history of the early congregation to present day. Celebrating 170 years of religious life in this community.

Directions:
Located south of the Fairford River.

+

St. John the Baptist Ukrainian Catholic Church, Dolyny (valleys)

Menzie

Built by local farmers with a background in carpentry, this is an exceptional example of the distinct tradition of a cross‑shaped plan topped with a dome. It is one of the first churches where the dome opened into the church, creating a light‑filled space symbolic of heaven. This church is a provincially designated heritage site.

Built by local farmers with a background in carpentry, this is an exceptional example of the distinct tradition of a cross‑shaped plan topped with a dome. It is one of the first churches where the dome opened into the church, creating a light‑filled space symbolic of heaven. This church is a provincially designated heritage site.

Directions:
From Menzie, travel north on PR566 for 7.2 km (4.5 miles) to PR470, then continue east for 3.2 km (2 miles), north for 0.8 km (1/2 mile), then east for 0.4 km (1/4 mile).

+

St. Mary's la Prairie Anglican Church

Portage la Prairie  | Provincial Heritage Site

St. Mary’s la Prairie Anglican Church was constructed in 1898, the third church built for the Parish of Portage la Prairie, which was founded by Archdeacon WilliamCockran in 1853. Archdeacon Cockran was an important missionary whose work at the Red River Settlement helped establish the...
St. Mary’s la Prairie Anglican Church was constructed in 1898, the third church built for the Parish of Portage la Prairie, which was founded by Archdeacon WilliamCockran in 1853. Archdeacon Cockran was an important missionary whose work at the Red River Settlement helped establish the Anglican Church in the West. The present church, designed by noted Winnipeg architect H.S. Griffith, is one of the finest examples of Gothic Revival architecture in Manitoba. Mr. Griffith used the standard vocabulary of the style: rough stone walls, a steep roof and the pointed arch for window and door openings. But Griffith gave the building more power and delight with a unique assemblage of forms at the main entrance, where the church’s bell is also housed. The church is just as impressive inside, with stained glass memorial windows, fine woodwork in the pews, pulpit, and altar, and dark-coloured ceiling with the impressive open wood trusses.
+

St. Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Church

Dnister

The church is one mile down a gravel road. This church is designated a Municipal Heritage Site and was built in 1906 by early Ukrainian settlers. Located north of Gimli in the area known as Dnister, this very simple log structure is adorned with one dome (banya) in the Ukrainian tradition and reminds us of the pride and tenacity of the Ukrainian settlers who broke this land with little resources than their hands and courage.

The church is one mile down a gravel road. This church is designated a Municipal Heritage Site and was built in 1906 by early Ukrainian settlers. Located north of Gimli in the area known as Dnister, this very simple log structure is adorned with one dome (banya) in the Ukrainian tradition and reminds us of the pride and tenacity of the Ukrainian settlers who broke this land with little resources than their hands and courage.

Directions:
Take Hwy #8 to PR231. Travel 3 kms north to Dnister Rd and turn west

+

St. Michael's of Archangels Roman Catholic Church

Meleb  | Municipal Heritage Site

Meleb. Built in 1917 by local Polish settlers, the building rose under the direction of head carpenter Michael Gottfried. This modest building is the proud repository of profound faith. The church was recently restored by a local group.

Meleb. Built in 1917 by local Polish settlers, the building rose under the direction of head carpenter Michael Gottfried. This modest building is the proud repository of profound faith. The church was recently restored by a local group.

+

St. Michael's Ukrainian

North Foley

Located in North Foley (just south of Gimli off Highway 8). Built in 1904, it is slightly larger than its sister church in Dnister. Also designated as a Municipal Heritage Site, the architectural style of St. Michael's is Byzantine in its simplest form. The one-room floor plan has a lovely interior display of iconography and a single dome (banya) depicting the pride of the early Ukrainian settlers.

Located in North Foley (just south of Gimli off Highway 8). Built in 1904, it is slightly larger than its sister church in Dnister. Also designated as a Municipal Heritage Site, the architectural style of St. Michael's is Byzantine in its simplest form. The one-room floor plan has a lovely interior display of iconography and a single dome (banya) depicting the pride of the early Ukrainian settlers.

+

St. Nicolas Ukrainian Catholic Church

Fisher Branch

Built between 1910–13, St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church is the oldest surviving building in the RM of Fisher. It is a good example of the architectural traditions of the Boyko region of Ukraine, as shown in the use of a threechambered plan (vestibule, large domed sanctuary and apse) and...

Built between 1910–13, St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church is the oldest surviving building in the RM of Fisher. It is a good example of the architectural traditions of the Boyko region of Ukraine, as shown in the use of a threechambered plan (vestibule, large domed sanctuary and apse) and a distinctive tiered dome. Its log construction, although hidden, is a link to the old country, and one of only 10 known surviving examples in Manitoba. The highly decorated church interior contains paintings created by noted Manitoba iconographer Jacob Maydanyk.

+

St. Paul's Anglican Church

St. Eustache  | Municipal Heritage Site

St. Paul’s Anglican Church was constructed during the spring and summer months of 1910. This woodframe church was an ambitious undertaking for the congregation, with six years of bazaars, teas, box socials, concerts and collection drives needed to raise sufficient funds. Many items are...
St. Paul’s Anglican Church was constructed during the spring and summer months of 1910. This woodframe church was an ambitious undertaking for the congregation, with six years of bazaars, teas, box socials, concerts and collection drives needed to raise sufficient funds. Many items are original to this 85-year old Gothic-inspired church including the Bible, chalice and plate, linens, baptismal bowl and book rest. Pointed arched windows with delicate window tracery enhance the exterior. An open bell tower topped with a short spire and wooden cross was restored in 1993. Further restorations to the building have since been made.
+

St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church

Moosehorn

Built from 1918-1921 by German settlers from Volhynia area (an area bordering Russia). For over 40 years high tower bell was rung on New Year's Eve from 11:45 p.m. - 12:15 a.m.
Baptismal font, altar, pews and ump organ still in use today. The church built in very German style, ccompact nave and solid tower set into the building - used for special occasions.

Built from 1918-1921 by German settlers from Volhynia area (an area bordering Russia). For over 40 years high tower bell was rung on New Year's Eve from 11:45 p.m. - 12:15 a.m.
Baptismal font, altar, pews and ump organ still in use today. The church built in very German style, ccompact nave and solid tower set into the building - used for special occasions.

Directions:
Moosehorn area - RM of Grahamdale

+

Stonewall Quarry Park Interpretive Centre Manitoba Star Attraction

Stonewall

The interpretative centre at this historic site unfortunately burned to the ground in 2007, but a new centre is being rebuilt on the same site to commemorate the importance of the limestone quarry to the development of Stonewall and surrounding area. Expected to open Spring, 2011.

The interpretative centre at this historic site unfortunately burned to the ground in 2007, but a new centre is being rebuilt on the same site to commemorate the importance of the limestone quarry to the development of Stonewall and surrounding area. Expected to open Spring, 2011.

Phone:
(204) 467- 7979

+

Sts. Cyril & Methodius Roman

Gimli

Built in 1921, having endured the loss of two churches to fire - in 1909 & in 1911. The third incarnation still stands. The architecture is based on the symbolish of the Holy Trinity, with the three-tiered bell tower, the three-chambered floor plan and the three windows in the nave.

Built in 1921, having endured the loss of two churches to fire - in 1909 & in 1911. The third incarnation still stands. The architecture is based on the symbolish of the Holy Trinity, with the three-tiered bell tower, the three-chambered floor plan and the three windows in the nave.

+

Tenby School

Tenby  | Municipal Heritage Site

Former Tenby School, Municipal Heritage Site. The novel design and the unusual building materials are reminders of the local pride brought to the construction of many one-room schools. At a time when other one-room schools were basically unadorned boxes, the builders of Tenby, in 1896, undertook a...
Former Tenby School, Municipal Heritage Site. The novel design and the unusual building materials are reminders of the local pride brought to the construction of many one-room schools. At a time when other one-room schools were basically unadorned boxes, the builders of Tenby, in 1896, undertook a more ambitious project. The floor plan was larger-almost a square-and the building was topped with a pyramidal roof. Moreover, they were built not with wood, but with concrete block. This material, which was popular for construction between 1890 and 1905, was usually the work of itinerant crews with portable block-makingmoulds. At Tenby School, the block-makers used a floral mould to create beautiful corner detail blocks, a feature not seen on many buildings, and certainly not on buildings of this modest size. Tenby School was closed in 1967, but local citizens have recently undertaken to preserve this remarkable little building.
+

Tent Town

Minitonas

A cairn near Minitonas marks the spot where, more than 100 years ago, a makeshift village was set up in anticipation of the coming railway line. Tent Town boasted a land titles office and two immigration halls (which also served as churches), along with a schoolroom where instruction cost 25 cents per week. When Minitonas and Swan River were chosen as the new town sites along the railway line, Tent Town quickly emptied.

A cairn near Minitonas marks the spot where, more than 100 years ago, a makeshift village was set up in anticipation of the coming railway line. Tent Town boasted a land titles office and two immigration halls (which also served as churches), along with a schoolroom where instruction cost 25 cents per week. When Minitonas and Swan River were chosen as the new town sites along the railway line, Tent Town quickly emptied.

Directions:
Located 3.2 km (2 miles) west, then 1 km (3/4 mile) south of Minitonas.

+

The Pas Railway Station

The Pas

Still in operation, The Pas Railway Station was built in 1928 using multi-coloured brickwork, considered rare at the time. The structure is a designated historical site under Canada's Railway Stations Protections Act (1993).
Still in operation, The Pas Railway Station was built in 1928 using multi-coloured brickwork, considered rare at the time. The structure is a designated historical site under Canada's Railway Stations Protections Act (1993).
Phone:
204-623-2210

+

The Smellie Block

Russell

The Smellie Block, once the headquarters for the Smellie Family Creamery and Mercantile, and also the main store and distribution centre for a network of rural stores, is now an historic building on Russell’s main street and will become the cornerstone for the revitalization of Main Street Russell. It will house the historic Beth Naylor clothing collection and a Forks‑style market with a variety of boutique shops.

The Smellie Block, once the headquarters for the Smellie Family Creamery and Mercantile, and also the main store and distribution centre for a network of rural stores, is now an historic building on Russell’s main street and will become the cornerstone for the revitalization of Main Street Russell. It will house the historic Beth Naylor clothing collection and a Forks‑style market with a variety of boutique shops.

+

The Spinning Wheel Cairn

Sifton

The Spinning Wheel Cairn (SIFTON) honours Sifton pioneer families and recognizes Willard McPhedrain, founder of the Mary Maxim Company.

The Spinning Wheel Cairn (SIFTON) honours Sifton pioneer families and recognizes Willard McPhedrain, founder of the Mary Maxim Company.

Directions:
Located on 2nd Avenue SE.

+

The Vault at Gilbert Plains

Gilbert Plains

Located in Eldon Cemetery in the RM of Gilbert Plains is a small cement building known as the mausoleum or the vault. Although the cemetery was established in 1895, and the 1921 municipal council called for tenders to build a vault, it was not constructed until 1923 and has only been used on a few occasions. It is one of a very few remaining in Manitoba and is in the process of becoming a provincial heritage site.

Located in Eldon Cemetery in the RM of Gilbert Plains is a small cement building known as the mausoleum or the vault. Although the cemetery was established in 1895, and the 1921 municipal council called for tenders to build a vault, it was not constructed until 1923 and has only been used on a few occasions. It is one of a very few remaining in Manitoba and is in the process of becoming a provincial heritage site.

+

Tiger Hills Arts Association Gallery

Holland

The former Union Bank was built in 1903, and operated until 1933 or 1934. The two story building’s walls and foundation are brick, and it features a floating cement floor in the basement. It is of unique stature and distinction with bird’s eye maple hardwood floors, ornamental tin...

The former Union Bank was built in 1903, and operated until 1933 or 1934. The two story building’s walls and foundation are brick, and it features a floating cement floor in the basement. It is of unique stature and distinction with bird’s eye maple hardwood floors, ornamental tin ceilings and beautiful large windows. It now houses the Tiger Hills Arts Association Gallery.

Annual Programs: Talent search, Cultural fiesta, Canada day, Christmas gala, concerts, Summer art camps, Independent Film Screenings, Art exhibits.

Classes: Visual, literary and performing arts. 

Phone:
204-526-2063

Email:

+

Tramway Park

Grand Rapids

On the shore of Lake Winnipeg, a section of a tramway built in 1877 by the Hudson's Bay Company has been relaid.  Western Canada's first railway, the tramway, allowed goods to be carried around the rapid from Lake Winnipeg to Saskatchewan River.
On the shore of Lake Winnipeg, a section of a tramway built in 1877 by the Hudson's Bay Company has been relaid.  Western Canada's first railway, the tramway, allowed goods to be carried around the rapid from Lake Winnipeg to Saskatchewan River.
+

Trembowla Cross of Freedom Historic Site and St. Michael's Ukrainian Catholic Church

Trembowla

A stone cross and commemorative plaque near Trembowla mark the site of the first Ukrainian Catholic mass to be held in Canada (1897). A nearby collection of historic buildings, including St. Michael’s Ukrainian Catholic Church (c.1898, the oldest remaining Ukrainian Catholic church in Canada), a pioneer home, and a school, houses artifacts from early Ukrainian settlers.

A stone cross and commemorative plaque near Trembowla mark the site of the first Ukrainian Catholic mass to be held in Canada (1897). A nearby collection of historic buildings, including St. Michael’s Ukrainian Catholic Church (c.1898, the oldest remaining Ukrainian Catholic church in Canada), a pioneer home, and a school, houses artifacts from early Ukrainian settlers.

Directions:
Located 27 km (17 miles) northwest of Dauphin on PR362 and PH491 (Trembowla Road).

Hours:
Open daily during summer months.

Phone:
204-638-9641

Phone:
204-638-9047

+

Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary

RM of Armstrong

The design of this church clearly expresses the religious convictions of the early Ukrainian immigrants to the malonton area of Armstrong. They brough the splendor of more elaborate churchres found in Ukraine to their simplified, one-room design.

The design of this church clearly expresses the religious convictions of the early Ukrainian immigrants to the malonton area of Armstrong. They brough the splendor of more elaborate churchres found in Ukraine to their simplified, one-room design.

Directions:
Zbruch - RM of Armstrong

+

Ukrainian Pioneer Dwelling (Buddas)

Olha

 When Ukrainian settlers first arrived in the area west of Riding Mountain in 1899, their first homes were small, tent‑shaped pole structures with roofs of hay, known as buddas. Michael Swistun was born in one of these structures in 1900, and constructed two buddas near the original settlement trail.

 When Ukrainian settlers first arrived in the area west of Riding Mountain in 1899, their first homes were small, tent‑shaped pole structures with roofs of hay, known as buddas. Michael Swistun was born in one of these structures in 1900, and constructed two buddas near the original settlement trail.

Directions:
Drive north on PR577 from PTH45 to Olha and follow the signs.

+

Ukrainian Settlement Monument

Olha

A monument near Olha commemorates the 100th anniversary of Ukrainian settlement in Canada, and marks the site where, in 1899, 42 children and three adults succumbed to scarlet fever on their way to new homes and a better life in the Parkland region.

A monument near Olha commemorates the 100th anniversary of Ukrainian settlement in Canada, and marks the site where, in 1899, 42 children and three adults succumbed to scarlet fever on their way to new homes and a better life in the Parkland region.

Directions:
Travel 4 km (2.5 miles) south of Olha on PR577; follow the sign.

+

United Church and Manse - Sidney

Sidney  | Municipal Heritage Site

Built in 1891 to serve a Methodist congregation, this church and adjacent manse are a charming couple. Built of red brick, the buildings are obviously a pair. The church is naturally more distinctive, with an angled tower and tall pyramidal roof. But the decorative Gothic trim at the roof line is picked up in the house, with its even more elaborate trim treatment. The result is a fine testament to builder John McCartney.

Built in 1891 to serve a Methodist congregation, this church and adjacent manse are a charming couple. Built of red brick, the buildings are obviously a pair. The church is naturally more distinctive, with an angled tower and tall pyramidal roof. But the decorative Gothic trim at the roof line is picked up in the house, with its even more elaborate trim treatment. The result is a fine testament to builder John McCartney.

+

Warkentin Blacksmith Shop

St. François Xavier  | Municipal Heritage Site

Warkentin Blacksmith Shop, Municipal Heritage Site. 2172 Highway #26. This blacksmith shop was constructed and operated by Henry Warkentin from 1931 to 1963, and is a simple, utilitarian structure. Painted red, the one-storey wood-frame building is covered with a gable roof, while small windows punctuate the sides. The façade incorporates large sliding doors which, when moved aside, expose a large work area.
Warkentin Blacksmith Shop, Municipal Heritage Site. 2172 Highway #26. This blacksmith shop was constructed and operated by Henry Warkentin from 1931 to 1963, and is a simple, utilitarian structure. Painted red, the one-storey wood-frame building is covered with a gable roof, while small windows punctuate the sides. The façade incorporates large sliding doors which, when moved aside, expose a large work area.
+

Watson Art Centre

Dauphin

The original Dauphin Town Hall, built in 1905, has been restored and now features a small art gallery and an auditorium. Designated as a provincial heritage site.

The original Dauphin Town Hall, built in 1905, has been restored and now features a small art gallery and an auditorium. Designated as a provincial heritage site.

Directions:
Located at 104‑1st Avenue N.W.

Phone:
204-638-6231

+

West Interlake Trading Company Elevator Site

Warren

Against the prairie skyline of the west Interlake a "Prairie Sentinel" stands attesting to the agricultural base of the area. One of the last wooden grain elevators in the Interlake is found at the West Interlake Trading Co. site in Warren. Elevator tours offer an insight into the workings of this...

Against the prairie skyline of the west Interlake a "Prairie Sentinel" stands attesting to the agricultural base of the area. One of the last wooden grain elevators in the Interlake is found at the West Interlake Trading Co. site in Warren. Elevator tours offer an insight into the workings of this prairie giant. The site is available for rentals for special events, weddings, conventions, or Christmas parties. This group arranges tours of the elevator and will develop custom experiences including other West Interlake tourism attractions.

Latitude:
50.133417

Longitude:
-97.548800

Phone:
204-461-4040

+

White Rock Mountain at Willow Point

Gimli

Erected on November 28, 2005 on Willow Island (just south of Gimli,) this location marks the spot where the first Icelandic settlers were thought to have landed on the shores of Lake Winnipeg. The white rock provided protection where Jon Johansson, the first Icelandic-Canadian child, was born on October 21, 1875.

Erected on November 28, 2005 on Willow Island (just south of Gimli,) this location marks the spot where the first Icelandic settlers were thought to have landed on the shores of Lake Winnipeg. The white rock provided protection where Jon Johansson, the first Icelandic-Canadian child, was born on October 21, 1875.

+

Wigwam Restaurant

Wasagaming

The building is an example of the rustic architectural style that shaped the character of Wasagaming during its formative years. The restaurant was constructed in 1928‑29 by its owners, O.J. Gusdal and Ernst Gusdal, employing Swedish craftsmen. The structure is sheathed in horizontal split‑log siding, and the interior walls and hipped ceiling are covered in golden‑hued, horizontal log siding.

The building is an example of the rustic architectural style that shaped the character of Wasagaming during its formative years. The restaurant was constructed in 1928‑29 by its owners, O.J. Gusdal and Ernst Gusdal, employing Swedish craftsmen. The structure is sheathed in horizontal split‑log siding, and the interior walls and hipped ceiling are covered in golden‑hued, horizontal log siding.

Directions:
Located at 132 Wasagaming Drive.

Phone:
204-848-7752

+

Winnipeg Beach Boardwalk

Winnipeg

Take a stroll on the restored wooden boardwalk along the shores of Lake Winnipeg at Winnipeg Beach and read the interpretive signs along the way. Learn the rich history of this vibrant resort and vacation community. Live performances in the gazebo bandstand & other new development, Winnipeg...

Take a stroll on the restored wooden boardwalk along the shores of Lake Winnipeg at Winnipeg Beach and read the interpretive signs along the way. Learn the rich history of this vibrant resort and vacation community. Live performances in the gazebo bandstand & other new development, Winnipeg Beach has regained much of its exciting past. Memories of the grandeur of the early 1900’s when the 14,000 square foot Pavilion Dance Hall & the 80 room Empress Hotel complete with its own orchestra, may be gone but not forgotten.

Latitude:
50.497100

Longitude:
-96.965917

Phone:
204-389-2698

+

Winnipeg Beach Tower

Winnipeg

Standing tall along the Lake Winnipeg shoreline is the 82-year-old water tower – a remnant from the heydays of CPR rail travel of Winnipeggers by the thousand each year. This water tower provided easy access to water for the steam engine that pulled “The Moonlight Express” train...

Standing tall along the Lake Winnipeg shoreline is the 82-year-old water tower – a remnant from the heydays of CPR rail travel of Winnipeggers by the thousand each year. This water tower provided easy access to water for the steam engine that pulled “The Moonlight Express” train to The Beach. This popular train brought folks out to dance the night away at the Pavilion Dancehall or to enjoy a stay at the elegant Empress Hotel. When the first train arrived on June 6th 1903, it brought 500 passengers in 11 coaches to find excitement in the “new town” of Winnipeg Beach – complete with a railway station, 4 stores, 2 hotels, a restaurant, a rooming house and a dance pavilion. See more in “The Boardwalk” listing under Historic Sites.

+

Wreck of the MV Ithica

Churchill

While shipping a load of nickel from Rankin Inlet, in the Northwest Territories, to Montreal, Quebec in 1961, the MV Ithica was caught in a wind storm and was stranded in the tidal flats approximately 20 km (12 miles) east of Churchill. The ship was once owned by Italian dictator Benito Mussolini. It can be reached by foot when the tide is low, or when the Hudson Bay is frozen over, although extensive corrosion of the decks has made it unsafe to board.

While shipping a load of nickel from Rankin Inlet, in the Northwest Territories, to Montreal, Quebec in 1961, the MV Ithica was caught in a wind storm and was stranded in the tidal flats approximately 20 km (12 miles) east of Churchill. The ship was once owned by Italian dictator Benito Mussolini. It can be reached by foot when the tide is low, or when the Hudson Bay is frozen over, although extensive corrosion of the decks has made it unsafe to board.

Directions:
20 km (12 miles) east of Churchill.

+

York Factory National Historic Site of Canada

Churchill

Located near the mouth of the Hayes River approximately 250 km (155 miles) south of Churchill, this 102-hectacre site's most prominent feature is the Hudson's Bay Company's Depot building. For over two centuries, beginning in 1684, York Factory was a major administrative, transshipment and...

Located near the mouth of the Hayes River approximately 250 km (155 miles) south of Churchill, this 102-hectacre site's most prominent feature is the Hudson's Bay Company's Depot building. For over two centuries, beginning in 1684, York Factory was a major administrative, transshipment and manufacturing centre and provided the HBC with access to quality furs, both from the hinterlands and from Aboriginal traders.

The current site is known as York Factory III and was developed after 1788. York Factory I (1684-1715) and York Factory II (1715-1788) were located about 1 km (0.6 mile) downstream from the current location.

The site was abandoned by the HBC in 1957 and ownership was transferred to the Government of Canada in 1968. It is now a National Historic Site.

Directions:
Located 250 km (155 miles) southeast of Churchill on the Hayes River.

Hours:
Open approximately June 1 to mid-September (weather permitting).

Admission:
No entry fee. Fee charged for interpretive programs and tours.

Phone:
204-675-8863

Fax:
204-675-2026

+

Young House, Municipal Heritage Site

Cypress River

William Edwin Young was one of the five original pioneers to homestead in the Cypress River area. In 1900 he built a Victorian style house of granite stones, hauled from the Assiniboine River on a horse drawn bobsled. Stone construction was used from basement to peak, and even included a round...
William Edwin Young was one of the five original pioneers to homestead in the Cypress River area. In 1900 he built a Victorian style house of granite stones, hauled from the Assiniboine River on a horse drawn bobsled. Stone construction was used from basement to peak, and even included a round cistern in the basement. A bay window, two dormers, elaborate gingerbread, and a front verandah add to the appeal of the exterior. The interior remains much of its original finish, including tin ceiling panels, wainscoting, and decorative mouldings and wood work.
+