Things to Do | Places of Worship

Churches

Arnes Lutheran Pioneer Memorial Church

Arborg

Founded in 1900. One of the early Icelandic churches.

Founded in 1900. One of the early Icelandic churches.

Directions:
Arnes Road 222 North

+

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Ukrainian Catholic Church

Seech

Built in 1911 at a cost of $1,500, this church is a rare example of log Ukrainian churches in Manitoba. It is designed on the cruciform plan with three domes (banyas), the larger dome dominating the centre of the structure and the smaller domes crowning two frontal towers. Other features are pointed stained glass windows, a large church patron icon and paintings of holy images.

Built in 1911 at a cost of $1,500, this church is a rare example of log Ukrainian churches in Manitoba. It is designed on the cruciform plan with three domes (banyas), the larger dome dominating the centre of the structure and the smaller domes crowning two frontal towers. Other features are pointed stained glass windows, a large church patron icon and paintings of holy images.

Directions:
From PTH45, take PR566 17.5 km (11 miles) north, then 3.2 km (2 miles) east and 2.8 km (1‑3/4 miles) north.

+

Assumption of the Virgin Mary Ukrainian Orthodox Church

Rossburn  | Provincial Heritage Site

 A provincial heritage site, the present church was built in 1928 with timber from nearby Riding Mountain, and restored in 1997. The first log church was built in 1905 on donated land which is now a cemetery.

 A provincial heritage site, the present church was built in 1928 with timber from nearby Riding Mountain, and restored in 1997. The first log church was built in 1905 on donated land which is now a cemetery.

Directions:
Travel north from Rossburn on PR264 and follow the signs.

Hours:
Interior visits by appointment.

Phone:
204-859-2508/2240

Phone:
204-859-2527

+

Bluff Creek Anglican Church Interpretive Centre

Silver Ridge

The Alonsa Conserv­ation District has assumed ownership of the Bluff Creek Anglican Church and has created an interpretive centre for the area's history. A 4.8 km (3-mile) nature trail has been established.

The Alonsa Conserv­ation District has assumed ownership of the Bluff Creek Anglican Church and has created an interpretive centre for the area's history. A 4.8 km (3-mile) nature trail has been established.

Directions:
Located 2 miles (3.2 km) east of Silver Ridge on Margaret Bruce Beach Road.

+

Catholic Parish of Lorette

Lorette

+

Chalmers Presbyterian Church

Treherne  | Municipal Heritage Site

The first Presbyterian service was held in Treherne in the early 1880s, and a modest wooden church built in 1887, was replaced in 1907 with this building, called Chalmers Presbyterian. Architecturally, the church is an ambitious interpretation of a typical L-shaped plan, with a handsome tower set...

The first Presbyterian service was held in Treherne in the early 1880s, and a modest wooden church built in 1887, was replaced in 1907 with this building, called Chalmers Presbyterian. Architecturally, the church is an ambitious interpretation of a typical L-shaped plan, with a handsome tower set into the apex of the ell. The Gothic Revival styling, de rigueur for Protestant churches, is seen here in the pointed Tudor windows and in the main door. The skillful handling of the building is no surprise, being the work of renowned Winnipeg architect J.H.G. Russell. Russell was the man often called upon in the design of major Presbyterian churches. This building is now a United Church, celebrating its centennial in 2007.

+

Charlebois Chapel

The Pas

Built in 1897 using squared log construction, the Charlebois Chapel (or First Catholic Church) is the second oldest building in The Pas. It was named for Father Ovide Charlebois.

Built in 1897 using squared log construction, the Charlebois Chapel (or First Catholic Church) is the second oldest building in The Pas. It was named for Father Ovide Charlebois.

Directions:
Located in Devon Park, 1st Street W.

+

Christ Church

The Pas

Established in 1940 by Henry Budd (the first Aboriginal ordained ot the Anglican ministry), the church has a number of interesting features: a selection of furnishings created by carpenters from the 1847 expedition in search or Sir John Franklin; and a wall with the Lord's Prayer and Ten Commandments in Cree.

Established in 1940 by Henry Budd (the first Aboriginal ordained ot the Anglican ministry), the church has a number of interesting features: a selection of furnishings created by carpenters from the 1847 expedition in search or Sir John Franklin; and a wall with the Lord's Prayer and Ten Commandments in Cree.

Directions:
Edwards Ave.

Hours:
Open only by appointment.

Admission:
Free admission.

Phone:
204-623-3802

Phone:
204-623-2119

+

Christ Church

Portage la Prairie

Phone:
204-857-6523

+

Church Carillon

St. Eustache

The church carillon is the largest carillon in all of western Canada. The bells were purchased in France in 1928, and were first installed in the steeple. In 1990 they were installed into the present tower in front of the church. Their total weight is 5500 pounds.
The church carillon is the largest carillon in all of western Canada. The bells were purchased in France in 1928, and were first installed in the steeple. In 1990 they were installed into the present tower in front of the church. Their total weight is 5500 pounds.
+

East Braintree Community Church

East Braintree

+

Ecole d'Evangelization

Saint-Malo

+

Fort Alexander Roman Catholic Rectory

Fort Alexander

+

Garland United Church

Garland

Originally called St. John’s Ruthenian Presbyterian Church, it was built in 1916 by the Presbyterian Church of Canada who, at that time, had undertaken to convert Ukrainian pioneers to the Presbyterian faith. The church’s congregation became part of the new United Church of Canada in 1925.

Originally called St. John’s Ruthenian Presbyterian Church, it was built in 1916 by the Presbyterian Church of Canada who, at that time, had undertaken to convert Ukrainian pioneers to the Presbyterian faith. The church’s congregation became part of the new United Church of Canada in 1925.

+

Good Shepherd Roman Catholic Church

Portage la Prairie

Phone:
204-239-6787

+

Grotto - Ste. Rose du Lac

Ste. Rose du Lac

An authentic replica of the Notre Dame de Lourdes grotto was constructed in Ste. Rose to commemorate the centennial of the appearance of the Virgin Mary to Ste. Bernadette in France in 1858. Construction delays resulted in the blessing of the site taking place a few years behind schedule, in 1961—the town church had burned down during construction and had to be rebuilt. In total, 400 loads of stone were brought to the site, both by truck and horse‑drawn wagon.

An authentic replica of the Notre Dame de Lourdes grotto was constructed in Ste. Rose to commemorate the centennial of the appearance of the Virgin Mary to Ste. Bernadette in France in 1858. Construction delays resulted in the blessing of the site taking place a few years behind schedule, in 1961—the town church had burned down during construction and had to be rebuilt. In total, 400 loads of stone were brought to the site, both by truck and horse‑drawn wagon.

Directions:
Located on the west side of PR276 as you enter Ste. Rose du Lac along PTH5.

+

Hecla Community Church

Hecla

Build in the late 1870's to serve the need of the Icelandic settlers on the Island and it remains today to hold non-denominational worship services every Sunday in the summer.

Build in the late 1870's to serve the need of the Icelandic settlers on the Island and it remains today to hold non-denominational worship services every Sunday in the summer.

Directions:
Hecla Island Village

+

Historic Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Resurrection

Dauphin

Historic Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Resurrection (DAUPHIN). Constructed by volunteers during the peak of the Depression, this splendid church, a National Heritage site, features the early Kievan style of Byzantine architecture. Guided tours, complete with traditional Ukrainian cuisine, are available upon request.

Historic Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Resurrection (DAUPHIN). Constructed by volunteers during the peak of the Depression, this splendid church, a National Heritage site, features the early Kievan style of Byzantine architecture. Guided tours, complete with traditional Ukrainian cuisine, are available upon request.

Phone:
204-638-5511

Phone:
204-638-4618

+

Holland Emmanual Historical Site (formally Emmanuel Anglican Church)

Holland  | Municipal Heritage Site

Holland Emmanuel Historical Site was the former Anglican Church in Holland.  Built in 1894 it is a beautiful wood structure with stone basement.  It boasts a high arched ceiling and beautiful stained glass windows.  

  The building is now privately owned by Holland Emmanuel Friends Inc.
Holland Emmanuel Historical Site was the former Anglican Church in Holland.  Built in 1894 it is a beautiful wood structure with stone basement.  It boasts a high arched ceiling and beautiful stained glass windows.  

  The building is now privately owned by Holland Emmanuel Friends Inc.
Directions:
For rental information, please call 204-526-2717 or 204-526-2399

Hours:
Holland Emmanuel is open to the public from the May long weekend until the September long weekend, 9 am to 5 pm seven says a week.

+

Holy Cross Church

Inwood  | Municipal Heritage Site

Build in 1915 by local craftsmen Ivan Harasymchuk and Semen Masyk, this Greek Catholic Church stands out from others of the type through the design of its distinctive tower and cupola. A beautiful chandelier captures your attention as you enter the church.

Build in 1915 by local craftsmen Ivan Harasymchuk and Semen Masyk, this Greek Catholic Church stands out from others of the type through the design of its distinctive tower and cupola. A beautiful chandelier captures your attention as you enter the church.

Directions:
Inwood Area

+

Holy Ghost Ukrainian Catholic Church

Sandy Lake

Built in 1937, this classic Byzantine church features icons painted by
P. Lypynsky. On the church grounds is the belfry, each corner of which is adorned with an angel blowing a trumpet. Call for information and tour arrangements.

Built in 1937, this classic Byzantine church features icons painted by
P. Lypynsky. On the church grounds is the belfry, each corner of which is adorned with an angel blowing a trumpet. Call for information and tour arrangements.

Phone:
204-585-5314

+

Holy Trinity Ukrainian Orthodox Church - Vita

Vita

+

Immaculate Conception Church & Grotto

Cook's Creek  | Provincial Heritage Site

Our lady of Lourdes Grotto resembles a ruined castle with a large central cave.

Our lady of Lourdes Grotto resembles a ruined castle with a large central cave.

Directions:
Highway 212 & Zora Road.

Phone:
(204)444-2478

+

Knox Presbyterian Church

Stonewall

Built in 1883 as a presbyterian Church on land donated by town founder S.J. Jackson

Built in 1883 as a presbyterian Church on land donated by town founder S.J. Jackson

Directions:
308 2nd Ave North, Stonewall

+

Lady of the Prairies Trappist Monastery

Holland

Is the first and only monastery west of Ontario.
Is the first and only monastery west of Ontario.
+

Little Britain Church

Lockport

Built between 1872-1874 with the tower added in 1920 as a World War I memorial. The architectural style originates from medieval Gothic traditions and one of only five surviving original Red River Settlement area stone churches. The oldest United Church in Manitoba and Western Canada, is still used for weekly services. They have mapped most of the cemetery for Genealogy studies.

Built between 1872-1874 with the tower added in 1920 as a World War I memorial. The architectural style originates from medieval Gothic traditions and one of only five surviving original Red River Settlement area stone churches. The oldest United Church in Manitoba and Western Canada, is still used for weekly services. They have mapped most of the cemetery for Genealogy studies.

Directions:
Located at 5879 PTH9 north of Lockport.

Phone:
204-757-2489

+

Maranatha Good News Centre

Niverville

+

Nativity of St. John the Baptist Ukrainian Catholic Church

Caliento

+

Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Ukrainian Church

Caliento

+

Old Bell of Saint Claude

Saint-Claude

The Old Bell of Saint-Claude (1921) was taken from the town’s second church, and is featured on the existing church grounds.
The Old Bell of Saint-Claude (1921) was taken from the town’s second church, and is featured on the existing church grounds.
+

Our Lady of Assumption Parish

South Junction

+

Our Lady of Seven Sorrows

Camperville

This stone church, built in 1912 near Camperville, (also known as Cathedral of the North) marks the legacy of Roman Catholic missionaries who first visited the area in 1839, many years before large‑scale agricultural settlement began.

This stone church, built in 1912 near Camperville, (also known as Cathedral of the North) marks the legacy of Roman Catholic missionaries who first visited the area in 1839, many years before large‑scale agricultural settlement began.

+

Our Lady of the Cypress Roman Catholic Church

Cypress River

Phone:
204-743-2010

+

Parish of St-Pierre-Jolys

Saint-Pierre-Jolys

+

Paroisse de St. Malo/Blessed Margaret Catholic Community

Saint-Malo

+

Prairie Vineyard

Portage la Prairie

Phone:
204-857-3839

+

Richer Fellowship Church

Ste. Anne

+

Roseau River Baptist Church

Roseau River

+

Ruthenian Greek Catholic Church of the Ascension (1940)

Sandy Lake

A small and unadorned church with only a small cross at the top of the gable end and an adjacent bell tower, it is typical of religious architecture in Manitoba.

A small and unadorned church with only a small cross at the top of the gable end and an adjacent bell tower, it is typical of religious architecture in Manitoba.

Directions:
From PTH45 at Sandy Lake, take PR250 north for 12.8 km (8 miles) and east for 0.8 km (1/2 mile).

+

Ruthenian Greek Catholic Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Toutes Aides  | Provincial Heritage Site

 This memorable piece of architecture, built in 1937, replaces an earlier church from 1910. Jacob Maydanyk created some of the icons within. The dome is open to the inside bringing in light that creates a space that enriches the spirit.

 This memorable piece of architecture, built in 1937, replaces an earlier church from 1910. Jacob Maydanyk created some of the icons within. The dome is open to the inside bringing in light that creates a space that enriches the spirit.

Directions:
Located 3.2 km (2 miles) south of Toutes Aides on PR276.

+

Sprague Baptist Church

Sprague

+

St. Andrews-on-the-Red Anglican Church

St. Andrews

Built between1844-1849, this is the oldest stone church in Western Canada still used for public worship. The kneeling benches are covered in buffalo hide, many original fixtures remain. Many of the early Red River pioneers in Manitoba rest in the graveyard here.  Donations welcome.

Built between1844-1849, this is the oldest stone church in Western Canada still used for public worship. The kneeling benches are covered in buffalo hide, many original fixtures remain. Many of the early Red River pioneers in Manitoba rest in the graveyard here.  Donations welcome.

Directions:
Located on St. Andrews Rd. & River Road, on the River Road Heritage Parkway.

Hours:
Open mid-May to end of August and Labour Day.

Phone:
204-334-6405

+

St. Anne's Anglican Church

Poplar Point  | Provincial and Municipal Heritage Site

The oldest log church west of the Great Lakes on the Prairies, St. Anne’s was built in 1859. It is a rare example of Red River frame log construction, popular throughout the west from 1820 to 1870. The church contains many original elements and fixtures including hand-made pews, a vestry screen decorated with jack-knife cut crosses and a font carved from a single large oak log.
The oldest log church west of the Great Lakes on the Prairies, St. Anne’s was built in 1859. It is a rare example of Red River frame log construction, popular throughout the west from 1820 to 1870. The church contains many original elements and fixtures including hand-made pews, a vestry screen decorated with jack-knife cut crosses and a font carved from a single large oak log.
+

St. Bartholomew's Angelican Church

Winnipeg Beach

Celebrated their centenary in 2010

Celebrated their centenary in 2010

+

St. Bede's Anglican Church

Kinosota

St. Bede's Anglican Parish, which celebrates its 165th year in 2007, is the oldest Anglican parish in Manitoba. St. Bede's Anglican Church, built at the turn of the century, has an entirely wood-finished interior. The church is still used for services, and the church bell still resounds throughout the community.
St. Bede's Anglican Parish, which celebrates its 165th year in 2007, is the oldest Anglican parish in Manitoba. St. Bede's Anglican Church, built at the turn of the century, has an entirely wood-finished interior. The church is still used for services, and the church bell still resounds throughout the community.
+

St. Clements Anglican Church

St. Andrews

Built between 1862 - 1863 as the offical church for the employees of the Hudson's Bay Company working at nearby Lower Fort Garry. Construction was started in 1857, however the bell tower was not finished until 1920.

Built between 1862 - 1863 as the offical church for the employees of the Hudson's Bay Company working at nearby Lower Fort Garry. Construction was started in 1857, however the bell tower was not finished until 1920.

Directions:
1178 River Road. St. Andrews

+

St. Cyprian Anglican Church

Teulon

A very picturesque church constructed in 1899 two miles east of town, first service held on Feb.4,1900. Moved to its present location Jan 24, 1909, services began the following Sunday.

A very picturesque church constructed in 1899 two miles east of town, first service held on Feb.4,1900. Moved to its present location Jan 24, 1909, services began the following Sunday.

Directions:
Located at 60-2nd Street S.E.

Phone:
204-886-3203

+

St. Demetrius Parish Church

Arborg

Arborg & District Multicultural Heritage Museum. Started in 1918 in Bjarmi; finished in 1920 as a Roman Catholic Church and moved to the Heritage Village in Arborg in 2007.

Arborg & District Multicultural Heritage Museum. Started in 1918 in Bjarmi; finished in 1920 as a Roman Catholic Church and moved to the Heritage Village in Arborg in 2007.

+

St. Elijah Romanian Orthodox Church and Romanian Folk House

Inglis

This is the only church of its kind in North America, together with a traditional Romanian home. The church was built in 1908 and is a replica of Romanian Orthodox churches in Bukovyna, with a simple rectangular shape with a rounded end, interior sculptured rafters, processional crosses and icons. The house, built in 1906, is typically Romanian in construction, with the characteristic deep‑sloping roof on all four sides with rounded, shingled corners.

This is the only church of its kind in North America, together with a traditional Romanian home. The church was built in 1908 and is a replica of Romanian Orthodox churches in Bukovyna, with a simple rectangular shape with a rounded end, interior sculptured rafters, processional crosses and icons. The house, built in 1906, is typically Romanian in construction, with the characteristic deep‑sloping roof on all four sides with rounded, shingled corners.

Directions:
Located 5 km (3 miles) north (PR592) and 1 km (3/4 mile) west of Inglis.

Phone:
204-564-2228

+

St. Francois Roman Catholic Church

St. François Xavier

The existing structure was built in 1900. The parish of St. François Xavier, succeeding St. Boniface, is the second oldest Roman Catholic parish in the Province of Manitoba, and of Western Canada. St. François Xavier is the mother church of all parishes west of the Red River and north of the American border.
The existing structure was built in 1900. The parish of St. François Xavier, succeeding St. Boniface, is the second oldest Roman Catholic parish in the Province of Manitoba, and of Western Canada. St. François Xavier is the mother church of all parishes west of the Red River and north of the American border.
Directions:
1053 Highway #26

Phone:
204-864-2026

+

St. Helen's Anglican Church

Fairford

First church established in 1842 with the present day one dating from1917. Located south of the Fairford River, surrounded by the Pinaymootang First Nation it is a designated Municipal Heritage Site. Served as a mission for the aboriginal residents f the area, the Gothic Revival style is common to...

First church established in 1842 with the present day one dating from
1917. Located south of the Fairford River, surrounded by the Pinaymootang First Nation it is a designated Municipal Heritage Site. Served as a mission for the aboriginal residents f the area, the Gothic Revival style is common to early Anglican churches. Erected within the stone foundation of an earlier log structure (1862) which had replaced original church. The adjacent graveyard contains the history of the early congregation to present day. Celebrating 170 years of religious life in this community.

Directions:
Located south of the Fairford River.

+

St. John Cantius Roman Catholic Church

Olha

Built in 1929 at a cost of $6,000, this church possesses a fine tower crowned with a tall spire. Pointed arches cap the windows and doors.

Built in 1929 at a cost of $6,000, this church possesses a fine tower crowned with a tall spire. Pointed arches cap the windows and doors.

Directions:
Located southeast of Olha off PR577.

+

St. John the Baptist Ukrainian Catholic Church, Dolyny (valleys)

Menzie

Built by local farmers with a background in carpentry, this is an exceptional example of the distinct tradition of a cross‑shaped plan topped with a dome. It is one of the first churches where the dome opened into the church, creating a light‑filled space symbolic of heaven. This church is a provincially designated heritage site.

Built by local farmers with a background in carpentry, this is an exceptional example of the distinct tradition of a cross‑shaped plan topped with a dome. It is one of the first churches where the dome opened into the church, creating a light‑filled space symbolic of heaven. This church is a provincially designated heritage site.

Directions:
From Menzie, travel north on PR566 for 7.2 km (4.5 miles) to PR470, then continue east for 3.2 km (2 miles), north for 0.8 km (1/2 mile), then east for 0.4 km (1/4 mile).

+

St. Margaret's Anglican Church

Mafeking

Constructed by volunteers between April and May 1940, St Margaret’s was served by missionaries known as “Bishop’s Messengers” for 39 years. Then, Rev. Squires was followed by Rev. Lamb, until the service of deconsecration in 2003 marked the church’s closing. A complete history is housed in this municipally‑designated heritage building.

Constructed by volunteers between April and May 1940, St Margaret’s was served by missionaries known as “Bishop’s Messengers” for 39 years. Then, Rev. Squires was followed by Rev. Lamb, until the service of deconsecration in 2003 marked the church’s closing. A complete history is housed in this municipally‑designated heritage building.

Directions:
Located just west of PTH10 at the south end of town.

Phone:
204-545-2069 (Terri)

Phone:
204-545-2204 (Bob)

+

St. Mary's la Prairie Anglican Church

Portage la Prairie  | Provincial Heritage Site

St. Mary’s la Prairie Anglican Church was constructed in 1898, the third church built for the Parish of Portage la Prairie, which was founded by Archdeacon WilliamCockran in 1853. Archdeacon Cockran was an important missionary whose work at the Red River Settlement helped establish the...
St. Mary’s la Prairie Anglican Church was constructed in 1898, the third church built for the Parish of Portage la Prairie, which was founded by Archdeacon WilliamCockran in 1853. Archdeacon Cockran was an important missionary whose work at the Red River Settlement helped establish the Anglican Church in the West. The present church, designed by noted Winnipeg architect H.S. Griffith, is one of the finest examples of Gothic Revival architecture in Manitoba. Mr. Griffith used the standard vocabulary of the style: rough stone walls, a steep roof and the pointed arch for window and door openings. But Griffith gave the building more power and delight with a unique assemblage of forms at the main entrance, where the church’s bell is also housed. The church is just as impressive inside, with stained glass memorial windows, fine woodwork in the pews, pulpit, and altar, and dark-coloured ceiling with the impressive open wood trusses.
+

St. Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Church

Dnister

The church is one mile down a gravel road. This church is designated a Municipal Heritage Site and was built in 1906 by early Ukrainian settlers. Located north of Gimli in the area known as Dnister, this very simple log structure is adorned with one dome (banya) in the Ukrainian tradition and reminds us of the pride and tenacity of the Ukrainian settlers who broke this land with little resources than their hands and courage.

The church is one mile down a gravel road. This church is designated a Municipal Heritage Site and was built in 1906 by early Ukrainian settlers. Located north of Gimli in the area known as Dnister, this very simple log structure is adorned with one dome (banya) in the Ukrainian tradition and reminds us of the pride and tenacity of the Ukrainian settlers who broke this land with little resources than their hands and courage.

Directions:
Take Hwy #8 to PR231. Travel 3 kms north to Dnister Rd and turn west

+

St. Michael's of Archangels Roman Catholic Church

Meleb  | Municipal Heritage Site

Meleb. Built in 1917 by local Polish settlers, the building rose under the direction of head carpenter Michael Gottfried. This modest building is the proud repository of profound faith. The church was recently restored by a local group.

Meleb. Built in 1917 by local Polish settlers, the building rose under the direction of head carpenter Michael Gottfried. This modest building is the proud repository of profound faith. The church was recently restored by a local group.

+

St. Michael's Ukrainian

North Foley

Located in North Foley (just south of Gimli off Highway 8). Built in 1904, it is slightly larger than its sister church in Dnister. Also designated as a Municipal Heritage Site, the architectural style of St. Michael's is Byzantine in its simplest form. The one-room floor plan has a lovely interior display of iconography and a single dome (banya) depicting the pride of the early Ukrainian settlers.

Located in North Foley (just south of Gimli off Highway 8). Built in 1904, it is slightly larger than its sister church in Dnister. Also designated as a Municipal Heritage Site, the architectural style of St. Michael's is Byzantine in its simplest form. The one-room floor plan has a lovely interior display of iconography and a single dome (banya) depicting the pride of the early Ukrainian settlers.

+

St. Michael's Ukrainian Catholic Church

Olha

St. Michael’s, one of the oldest churches in the area, was built in 1904. The original belfry, constructed in 1915, was later sold. Jacob Maydaniuk painted the interior icons in 1927. This building is a designated historic site. Call for information and tour arrangements.

St. Michael’s, one of the oldest churches in the area, was built in 1904. The original belfry, constructed in 1915, was later sold. Jacob Maydaniuk painted the interior icons in 1927. This building is a designated historic site. Call for information and tour arrangements.

Phone:
204234-5236

+

St. Michael's Ukrainian Orthodox Church

Sandy Lake

A classic example of the style of architecture transplanted to the region from Ukraine, this church stands adorned with majestic onion domes and stained‑glass windows. Visitors to this unique church are always welcome.

A classic example of the style of architecture transplanted to the region from Ukraine, this church stands adorned with majestic onion domes and stained‑glass windows. Visitors to this unique church are always welcome.

+

St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church

Sandy Lake

This is the oldest Ukrainian Catholic parish in the area, with the first service held in 1902 in a private home. A log church was built in 1904, replaced by the current structure in 1933. The church features the prominent central dome and vivid interior iconography typical of all such churches in the area.

This is the oldest Ukrainian Catholic parish in the area, with the first service held in 1902 in a private home. A log church was built in 1904, replaced by the current structure in 1933. The church features the prominent central dome and vivid interior iconography typical of all such churches in the area.

Directions:
From Sandy Lake, travel 5 km (3 miles) east on PTH45, then 10 km (6 miles)south on Ozerna Road.

Hours:
Call for information or to arrange a tour.

Phone:
204-585-5243

+

St. Nicolas Ukrainian Catholic Church

Fisher Branch

Built between 1910–13, St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church is the oldest surviving building in the RM of Fisher. It is a good example of the architectural traditions of the Boyko region of Ukraine, as shown in the use of a threechambered plan (vestibule, large domed sanctuary and apse) and...

Built between 1910–13, St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church is the oldest surviving building in the RM of Fisher. It is a good example of the architectural traditions of the Boyko region of Ukraine, as shown in the use of a threechambered plan (vestibule, large domed sanctuary and apse) and a distinctive tiered dome. Its log construction, although hidden, is a link to the old country, and one of only 10 known surviving examples in Manitoba. The highly decorated church interior contains paintings created by noted Manitoba iconographer Jacob Maydanyk.

+

St. Paul's Anglican Church

St. Eustache  | Municipal Heritage Site

St. Paul’s Anglican Church was constructed during the spring and summer months of 1910. This woodframe church was an ambitious undertaking for the congregation, with six years of bazaars, teas, box socials, concerts and collection drives needed to raise sufficient funds. Many items are...
St. Paul’s Anglican Church was constructed during the spring and summer months of 1910. This woodframe church was an ambitious undertaking for the congregation, with six years of bazaars, teas, box socials, concerts and collection drives needed to raise sufficient funds. Many items are original to this 85-year old Gothic-inspired church including the Bible, chalice and plate, linens, baptismal bowl and book rest. Pointed arched windows with delicate window tracery enhance the exterior. An open bell tower topped with a short spire and wooden cross was restored in 1993. Further restorations to the building have since been made.
+

St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church

Moosehorn

Built from 1918-1921 by German settlers from Volhynia area (an area bordering Russia). For over 40 years high tower bell was rung on New Year's Eve from 11:45 p.m. - 12:15 a.m.
Baptismal font, altar, pews and ump organ still in use today. The church built in very German style, ccompact nave and solid tower set into the building - used for special occasions.

Built from 1918-1921 by German settlers from Volhynia area (an area bordering Russia). For over 40 years high tower bell was rung on New Year's Eve from 11:45 p.m. - 12:15 a.m.
Baptismal font, altar, pews and ump organ still in use today. The church built in very German style, ccompact nave and solid tower set into the building - used for special occasions.

Directions:
Moosehorn area - RM of Grahamdale

+

Ste. Anne Parish

Ste. Anne

+

Stony Hill-Otto Lutheran Church

Lundar

This church was built in 1913, given the name Grunnavatns, which means 'shallow lake' - likely in reference to nearby Shoal Lake. The church expresses Lutheran architectural traditions in the central tower and tall peaked steeple. An annual service is still held in the church, now renamed the Stony Hill-Otto Church

This church was built in 1913, given the name Grunnavatns, which means 'shallow lake' - likely in reference to nearby Shoal Lake. The church expresses Lutheran architectural traditions in the central tower and tall peaked steeple. An annual service is still held in the church, now renamed the Stony Hill-Otto Church

Directions:
Icelandic communities of Stony Hill and Otto districts, east of Lundar

+

Sts. Cyril & Methodius Roman

Gimli

Built in 1921, having endured the loss of two churches to fire - in 1909 & in 1911. The third incarnation still stands. The architecture is based on the symbolish of the Holy Trinity, with the three-tiered bell tower, the three-chambered floor plan and the three windows in the nave.

Built in 1921, having endured the loss of two churches to fire - in 1909 & in 1911. The third incarnation still stands. The architecture is based on the symbolish of the Holy Trinity, with the three-tiered bell tower, the three-chambered floor plan and the three windows in the nave.

+

Sts. Peter and Paul Roman Catholic Church (1917)

Menzie

The first priest in the area, a French Oblate, ministered to local Aboriginal peoples during the 1850s. His successor provided spiritual guidance to the early settlers and the church was built. Now, it is used only for special occasions. Look for a small circular window in the facade.

The first priest in the area, a French Oblate, ministered to local Aboriginal peoples during the 1850s. His successor provided spiritual guidance to the early settlers and the church was built. Now, it is used only for special occasions. Look for a small circular window in the facade.

Directions:
From PTH45, take PR566 7.2 km (4.5 miles) north to PR470, 8 km (5 miles) east on PR470 and then 2 km (1‑1/4 miles) north.

+

Sts. Peter and Paul Ukrainian Catholic Church - Rossburn

Rossburn

The original church was built in 1901, but disagreements within the parish led to the construction of a second nearby church in 1904. It remained in use until 1959. Since its restoration in 1978, it has opened annually on its Patron Saint’s Day (July 12) for a public mass and family picnic.

The original church was built in 1901, but disagreements within the parish led to the construction of a second nearby church in 1904. It remained in use until 1959. Since its restoration in 1978, it has opened annually on its Patron Saint’s Day (July 12) for a public mass and family picnic.

Directions:
From Rossburn, travel north on PR264, then east on PR577, then turn south on the first road past the Rossman Lake Golf Course.

+

Sts. Peter and Paul Ukrainian Catholic Church - Sunville

Sunville

Construction began on this church in 1919, but due to a failing agricultural economy was not completed until 1934. The church is still in use today. Also located in this area is the Holy Resurrection Ukrainian Orthodox Church. The church was built in 1904 from logs hauled by hand several miles to the site. The total cost of labour was $25.

Construction began on this church in 1919, but due to a failing agricultural economy was not completed until 1934. The church is still in use today. Also located in this area is the Holy Resurrection Ukrainian Orthodox Church. The church was built in 1904 from logs hauled by hand several miles to the site. The total cost of labour was $25.

Directions:
Located 19 km (12 miles) east of McCreary on PTH50, then 11 km (7 miles) south and 1.5 km (1 mile) east.

Phone:
204-835-2341

+

Sts. Peter and Paul Ukrainian Orthodox Church - Seech

Seech

Open air services were held at this site before the church was constructed in 1938 by Michael Swistun and ten volunteers. Great care was taken with small details, and finely carved decorations are found throughout the church. A special service and dinner accompanies the Patron Saint’s Day each year on July 12.

Open air services were held at this site before the church was constructed in 1938 by Michael Swistun and ten volunteers. Great care was taken with small details, and finely carved decorations are found throughout the church. A special service and dinner accompanies the Patron Saint’s Day each year on July 12.

Directions:
From PTH45, take PR566 north for 16 km (10 miles).

+

Tamarisk United Church

Grandview

This is an outstanding example of a rural wood frame church. Local residents have meticulously maintained the building and its furnishings, and the interior remains almost completely original stained wood boarding.

This is an outstanding example of a rural wood frame church. Local residents have meticulously maintained the building and its furnishings, and the interior remains almost completely original stained wood boarding.

Directions:
Travel 8 km (5 miles) south of Grandview on PR366 to the Russell Trail, then head east for 3 km (2 miles).

Hours:
The church is open to visitors all year, during daylight hours.

+

The Church at Pine Ridge

Pine Ridge

+

The Direction Centre

Steinbach

+

Toutes Aides Roman Catholic Church

Toutes Aides

Construction on this municipal heritage site began in 1935. The style is reminiscent of Quebec parish churches of the 1800s.

Construction on this municipal heritage site began in 1935. The style is reminiscent of Quebec parish churches of the 1800s.

Directions:
Located in Toutes Aides, 40 km (25 miles) north of Ste. Rose on PR276.

+

Trembowla Cross of Freedom Historic Site and St. Michael's Ukrainian Catholic Church

Trembowla

A stone cross and commemorative plaque near Trembowla mark the site of the first Ukrainian Catholic mass to be held in Canada (1897). A nearby collection of historic buildings, including St. Michael’s Ukrainian Catholic Church (c.1898, the oldest remaining Ukrainian Catholic church in Canada), a pioneer home, and a school, houses artifacts from early Ukrainian settlers.

A stone cross and commemorative plaque near Trembowla mark the site of the first Ukrainian Catholic mass to be held in Canada (1897). A nearby collection of historic buildings, including St. Michael’s Ukrainian Catholic Church (c.1898, the oldest remaining Ukrainian Catholic church in Canada), a pioneer home, and a school, houses artifacts from early Ukrainian settlers.

Directions:
Located 27 km (17 miles) northwest of Dauphin on PR362 and PH491 (Trembowla Road).

Hours:
Open daily during summer months.

Phone:
204-638-9641

Phone:
204-638-9047

+

Tummel United Church

Roblin

The walls of the first church were erected on June 21, 1887 and the new church was built in 1906. Tummel Church is the oldest church in the Rural Municipality of Shell River which is still active.

The walls of the first church were erected on June 21, 1887 and the new church was built in 1906. Tummel Church is the oldest church in the Rural Municipality of Shell River which is still active.

Directions:
Located 9.5 km (6 miles) south of Roblin on PTH83; turn at the sign and go 5 km (3 miles) west.

Hours:
Call for an appointment to view.

Phone:
204-937-4955

Phone:
204-937-2718

+

Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary

RM of Armstrong

The design of this church clearly expresses the religious convictions of the early Ukrainian immigrants to the malonton area of Armstrong. They brough the splendor of more elaborate churchres found in Ukraine to their simplified, one-room design.

The design of this church clearly expresses the religious convictions of the early Ukrainian immigrants to the malonton area of Armstrong. They brough the splendor of more elaborate churchres found in Ukraine to their simplified, one-room design.

Directions:
Zbruch - RM of Armstrong

+

Ukrainian Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception

Winnipegosis

Renowned designer Father Philip Ruh planned this church in the style of the ornate Baroque churches of Kiev, Ukraine. The church, built in 1929 and now designated as a municipal heritage site, is one of the finest examples of what have come to be called “prairie cathedrals,” with its towering dome and dramatic facade.

Renowned designer Father Philip Ruh planned this church in the style of the ornate Baroque churches of Kiev, Ukraine. The church, built in 1929 and now designated as a municipal heritage site, is one of the finest examples of what have come to be called “prairie cathedrals,” with its towering dome and dramatic facade.

+

Ukrainian Orthodox Church of St. Elias

Sirko

+

Ukrainian Orthodox Church of St. John the Baptist

Garland

Completed in 1964, the new church building replaced one originally constructed in 1911. The building and its facade and domes are classic examples of the architectural traditions of eastern Europe.

Completed in 1964, the new church building replaced one originally constructed in 1911. The building and its facade and domes are classic examples of the architectural traditions of eastern Europe.

+

Ukrainian Orthodox Church of St. Michael

Gardenton

+

Ukrainian Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas

Portage la Prairie

+

Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the Nativity of St. Mary

Senkiw

+

United Church and Manse - Sidney

Sidney  | Municipal Heritage Site

Built in 1891 to serve a Methodist congregation, this church and adjacent manse are a charming couple. Built of red brick, the buildings are obviously a pair. The church is naturally more distinctive, with an angled tower and tall pyramidal roof. But the decorative Gothic trim at the roof line is picked up in the house, with its even more elaborate trim treatment. The result is a fine testament to builder John McCartney.

Built in 1891 to serve a Methodist congregation, this church and adjacent manse are a charming couple. Built of red brick, the buildings are obviously a pair. The church is naturally more distinctive, with an angled tower and tall pyramidal roof. But the decorative Gothic trim at the roof line is picked up in the house, with its even more elaborate trim treatment. The result is a fine testament to builder John McCartney.

+

West End Community Church

MacGregor

Phone:
204-685-2092

+

Whitemouth Fellowship

Whitemouth

+

Willowdale Fellowship

Cooks Creek

+