Things to Do | Schools

Schools

Cowan School Districts 1132, 2305 and 1808 Museum

Cowan

West School #1132, now a one‑room schoolhouse museum, is located next to Kolisnyk’s General Store in Cowan on PTH10. Moved to the site and restored in 2003, the town’s treasure has an oiled hardwood floor, cedar shingles and siding made by a student from the 1940s. Inside are blackboards, desks, books, maps, stove, boiler and more. Contact the Kolishnyks at their store, 204‑569‑4836.

West School #1132, now a one‑room schoolhouse museum, is located next to Kolisnyk’s General Store in Cowan on PTH10. Moved to the site and restored in 2003, the town’s treasure has an oiled hardwood floor, cedar shingles and siding made by a student from the 1940s. Inside are blackboards, desks, books, maps, stove, boiler and more. Contact the Kolishnyks at their store, 204‑569‑4836.

Phone:
204-569-4836

+

Horod School

Horod

Built in 1906 and now a provincial heritage site, the school still has its original teacherage and privies. Since its restoration, Horod School is now a museum. Horod is an ancient term for stockade or fort.

Built in 1906 and now a provincial heritage site, the school still has its original teacherage and privies. Since its restoration, Horod School is now a museum. Horod is an ancient term for stockade or fort.

Directions:
From PTH45, take PR354 north for 14.4 km (9 miles).

+

Marconi School

Rossburn

Built in 1922 with an opening class of 69 students, Marconi School was used until 1958. In 1992 the school was restored.

Built in 1922 with an opening class of 69 students, Marconi School was used until 1958. In 1992 the school was restored.

Directions:
From Rossburn, go approximately 5 km (3 miles) north on PR264 to the junction of PR577, and east 16 km (10 miles) on PR577; watch for a sign indicating where to turn left.

Phone:
204-859-2762

Phone:
204-859-2604 / 2429

+

South Bay School

Winnipegosis

It looks like a basic one‑room school, but South Bay School is a reminder of the careful attention
to design observed by the Department of Education. The simple rectangular plan, with a band of windows on the south side and continuous roof surface over the entry vestibule, helped reduce construction costs. The school now serves as the South Bay Community Centre.

It looks like a basic one‑room school, but South Bay School is a reminder of the careful attention
to design observed by the Department of Education. The simple rectangular plan, with a band of windows on the south side and continuous roof surface over the entry vestibule, helped reduce construction costs. The school now serves as the South Bay Community Centre.

Directions:
Located 7 miles (11.2 km) north of Winnipegosis on PTH20.

Phone:
204-656-4468

+

Tamarisk School

Grandview

 Built in 1909, Tamarisk school is one of the best‑preserved examples of a Design No. 2 school built according to plans prepared by the Department of Education. The school closed in 1967, but has recently been restored.

 Built in 1909, Tamarisk school is one of the best‑preserved examples of a Design No. 2 school built according to plans prepared by the Department of Education. The school closed in 1967, but has recently been restored.

Directions:
Located 8 km (5 miles) south of Grandview on PR366 to the Russell Trail, then head east for 1.6 km (1 mile).

Hours:
Open by appointment.

Phone:
204-546-2564

+

Tenby School

Tenby  | Municipal Heritage Site

Former Tenby School, Municipal Heritage Site. The novel design and the unusual building materials are reminders of the local pride brought to the construction of many one-room schools. At a time when other one-room schools were basically unadorned boxes, the builders of Tenby, in 1896, undertook a...
Former Tenby School, Municipal Heritage Site. The novel design and the unusual building materials are reminders of the local pride brought to the construction of many one-room schools. At a time when other one-room schools were basically unadorned boxes, the builders of Tenby, in 1896, undertook a more ambitious project. The floor plan was larger-almost a square-and the building was topped with a pyramidal roof. Moreover, they were built not with wood, but with concrete block. This material, which was popular for construction between 1890 and 1905, was usually the work of itinerant crews with portable block-makingmoulds. At Tenby School, the block-makers used a floral mould to create beautiful corner detail blocks, a feature not seen on many buildings, and certainly not on buildings of this modest size. Tenby School was closed in 1967, but local citizens have recently undertaken to preserve this remarkable little building.
+