Things to See | Museums

Museums

Anola & District Museum

Anola

Pioneer village, blacksmith shop, Springfield's first fire truck

Pioneer village, blacksmith shop, Springfield's first fire truck

Directions:
1 block south of Highway 15

Phone:
(204)866-2922

+

Arborg & District Multicultural Heritage Village

Arborg

The history of this region dates back to 1900, when Icelandic and Polish/Ukrainian settlers moved here to break and farm the land. The Multicultural Heritage Village celebrates this blended heritage, giving you a firsthand look into the challenges and triumphs that highlighted the lives of the...

The history of this region dates back to 1900, when Icelandic and Polish/Ukrainian settlers moved here to break and farm the land. The Multicultural Heritage Village celebrates this blended heritage, giving you a firsthand look into the challenges and triumphs that highlighted the lives of the early pioneers. Tour a broad selection of heritage buildings gathered from various points in the region. Enjoy the lovely setting, nestled along the Icelandic River on the east side of Arborg. Camping next door in a full-service 22-site campground.

Directions:
East side of Arborg - hwy. #68.

Latitude:
50.902783

Longitude:
-97.208350

Phone:
204-376-5079

Phone:
204-376-5653

+

Ashern Pioneer Museum

Ashern

These heritage buildings include the first Anglican Church in the area, a log house, post office, municipal office, Darwin school, and a CNR building. You’ll also see some vintage farm machinery & equipment that helped the early settlers work the land. The museum is located on the south...

These heritage buildings include the first Anglican Church in the area, a log house, post office, municipal office, Darwin school, and a CNR building. You’ll also see some vintage farm machinery & equipment that helped the early settlers work the land. The museum is located on the south end of Ashern (accessible from Hwy 6) and is open July & August. A mini “Threshermen`s Day” is held in September, giving you the opportunity to learn firsthand how threshing was done in the old days. Don’t miss it!

Latitude:
51.179133

Longitude:
-98.348883

Phone:
204-768-3147

+

Chatfield Park of Souvenirs Museum

Chatfield

This collection includes a 1932 log house, 1927 Lutheran church, creamery, granary, a 1936 pool hall, a barbershop & the “Hankie House.” What’s a hankie house? A unique collection of more than 3,000 handkerchiefs donated from around the globe! The Pool hall/ barbershop is home to the owners who happily invite you in to relive the days of pool & conversation with your neighbours. Group tours by appointment, tea/ coffee & dainties available on request.

This collection includes a 1932 log house, 1927 Lutheran church, creamery, granary, a 1936 pool hall, a barbershop & the “Hankie House.” What’s a hankie house? A unique collection of more than 3,000 handkerchiefs donated from around the globe! The Pool hall/ barbershop is home to the owners who happily invite you in to relive the days of pool & conversation with your neighbours. Group tours by appointment, tea/ coffee & dainties available on request.

Hours:
Open daily 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., May - September.

Phone:
204-664-2157

+

CNR Station and Park

Dauphin

This station, constructed in 1912 and now a local historical site, provided a vital link for settlers immigrating to the Parkland region. The adjacent park path meanders around a variety of fruit trees.

This station, constructed in 1912 and now a local historical site, provided a vital link for settlers immigrating to the Parkland region. The adjacent park path meanders around a variety of fruit trees.

Directions:
Located at 101‑1st Ave. NW.

+

Cook's Creek Heritage Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Cooks Creek

Costumes, folk art, barn, pioneer homes, blacksmith shop, church, candle house.

Costumes, folk art, barn, pioneer homes, blacksmith shop, church, candle house.

Directions:
Highway 212, three miles east of Birds Hill.

Phone:
(204)444-4448

+

Cowan School Districts 1132, 2305 and 1808 Museum

Cowan

West School #1132, now a one‑room schoolhouse museum, is located next to Kolisnyk’s General Store in Cowan on PTH10. Moved to the site and restored in 2003, the town’s treasure has an oiled hardwood floor, cedar shingles and siding made by a student from the 1940s. Inside are blackboards, desks, books, maps, stove, boiler and more. Contact the Kolishnyks at their store, 204‑569‑4836.

West School #1132, now a one‑room schoolhouse museum, is located next to Kolisnyk’s General Store in Cowan on PTH10. Moved to the site and restored in 2003, the town’s treasure has an oiled hardwood floor, cedar shingles and siding made by a student from the 1940s. Inside are blackboards, desks, books, maps, stove, boiler and more. Contact the Kolishnyks at their store, 204‑569‑4836.

Phone:
204-569-4836

+

Dairy Museum of Manitoba

Saint-Claude

The Dairy Museum of Manitoba features local and provincial dairying from early practices to modern processing. The Museum grounds include agricultural exhibits showing the growth of this industry. 2,000 bilingually catalogued artifacts which tell the story of Saint-Claude at the turn of the...

The Dairy Museum of Manitoba features local and provincial dairying from early practices to modern processing. The Museum grounds include agricultural exhibits showing the growth of this industry. 2,000 bilingually catalogued artifacts which tell the story of Saint-Claude at the turn of the century, and the Bell School Museum which depicts a typical county school from the pioneer days. Also featured is a Chapel containing religious artifacts from Saint-Claude’s two previous churches.

The creamery is owned and operated by Parmalat and it produces both butter and powdered milk.

+

Dauphin Rail Museum

Dauphin

Housed in the magnificent brick Canadian Northern Railway Station, and next to an active CN and VIA line, the museum contains artifacts, pictures, and archival material related to 100 years of railway service in the region. A model railroad depicting the rail facilities circa 1954 is on display.

Housed in the magnificent brick Canadian Northern Railway Station, and next to an active CN and VIA line, the museum contains artifacts, pictures, and archival material related to 100 years of railway service in the region. A model railroad depicting the rail facilities circa 1954 is on display.

Directions:
Located at 101-1st Ave. NW.

Hours:
Open May long weekend to September long weekend, or by appointment.

Phone:
204-638-5495

+

Dunnottar Train Station

Dunnottar

Once a stop of the "Daddy Train" running from Winnipeg to "The Beaches," what's now known as the Dunnottar Station Museum is actually the fully refurbished Matlock CPR station c1904. Historic photos, vintage police siren and a velocipede (an early form of bicycle) are among the unique items at the...

Once a stop of the "Daddy Train" running from Winnipeg to "The Beaches," what's now known as the Dunnottar Station Museum is actually the fully refurbished Matlock CPR station c1904. Historic photos, vintage police siren and a velocipede (an early form of bicycle) are among the unique items at the museum. New items added to the collection by donation. July 1st celebrations include the annual Canada Day parade complete with crazy costumes. Situated adjacent to the Ponemah Arts Centre, a stop on The WAVE Studio Artists Tour. 

Latitude:
50.470200

Longitude:
-96.955883

Hours:
Open 10:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. on weekends in the summer or by appointment.

Phone:
204-641-0234

+

Eriksdale Creamery Museum

Eriksdale

This museum demonstrates the importance of a creamery to the farming community. The 1950’s creamery has been restored and boasts many fascinating artifacts. Exhibits from the old St. John’s Anglican Church have joined the artifacts in the Creamery Building. Next door to the Creamery...

This museum demonstrates the importance of a creamery to the farming community. The 1950’s creamery has been restored and boasts many fascinating artifacts. Exhibits from the old St. John’s Anglican Church have joined the artifacts in the Creamery Building. Next door to the Creamery Museum is a new structure including an original store counter complete with cheese cutting and wrapping station, which stood in the General Store for years. Also a Travel Info booth, and during the summer months, a historic tour of Eriksdale can
be arranged via the Creamery.

Latitude:
50.861950

Longitude:
-98.104983

Phone:
204-739-2140

+

Eskimo Museum

Churchill

The museum features a collection of Inuit artifacts and carvings that are among the oldest in the world, ranging from approx. 1700 BC to modern times. The Pre-Dorset and Dorset peoples made the area around Churchill their home during the period from approximately 3,000 BC to 1,000 BC. The museum has a gift shop where visitors can purchase Inuit art, books and other local items.
The museum features a collection of Inuit artifacts and carvings that are among the oldest in the world, ranging from approx. 1700 BC to modern times. The Pre-Dorset and Dorset peoples made the area around Churchill their home during the period from approximately 3,000 BC to 1,000 BC. The museum has a gift shop where visitors can purchase Inuit art, books and other local items.
Hours:
Summer: Monday, 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm; Tuesday - Saturday, 9:00 am - Noon and 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm; closed Sunday and holidays. Winter: Monday - Saturday, 1:00 pm - 4:30 pm; closed Sunday and holidays.

Admission:
Donations accepted.

Phone:
204-675-2030

Fax:
204-675-2140

+

Ethelbert & District Museum

Ethelbert

Housed in the Old Post Office (1899), the two‑storey museum features artifacts from original settlers, a school room, nursery, sewing room, pioneer kitchen and bedroom. Annual Museum Day celebrations include old‑time outdoor games and bread baking in an outdoor clay oven.

Housed in the Old Post Office (1899), the two‑storey museum features artifacts from original settlers, a school room, nursery, sewing room, pioneer kitchen and bedroom. Annual Museum Day celebrations include old‑time outdoor games and bread baking in an outdoor clay oven.

Phone:
204-742-8860 / 3268

Phone:
204-742-3726

+

Flin Flon Station Museum

Flin Flon

A museum showcasing the mining history of the community of Flin Flon. Here you can view artifacts including a Linn Tractor (used to haul freight), a trail sweeper and a 63 lb. lake trout which was caught in the area.
A museum showcasing the mining history of the community of Flin Flon. Here you can view artifacts including a Linn Tractor (used to haul freight), a trail sweeper and a 63 lb. lake trout which was caught in the area.
Directions:
Located on PTH10 at the Tourist Park.

Hours:
June to August 31, daily, 10:00 am - 8:00 pm

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-687-2946

+

Fort Dauphin Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Dauphin

Built to resemble an 18th‑century fur trade post, the museum includes an authentic blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, a pioneer log house dating from 1892, and a one‑room school built in 1894. Also contains the Parkland Regional Laboratory, with information on more than 1,000 archaeological sites in the Parkland area.

Built to resemble an 18th‑century fur trade post, the museum includes an authentic blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, a pioneer log house dating from 1892, and a one‑room school built in 1894. Also contains the Parkland Regional Laboratory, with information on more than 1,000 archaeological sites in the Parkland area.

Directions:
Located at 4th Ave. S.W. and Jackson St.

Phone:
204-638-6630

+

Fort la Reine Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Portage la Prairie

Fort la Reine Museum, known for its replica of the Fort and its extensive Pioneer Village, is home of Sir William Van Horne’s railway business car. This is the car that acted as a mobile office and sleeping facility for Van Horne when he supervised the construction of the CPR...

Fort la Reine Museum, known for its replica of the Fort and its extensive Pioneer Village, is home of Sir William Van Horne’s railway business car. This is the car that acted as a mobile office and sleeping facility for Van Horne when he supervised the construction of the CPR railway—the railway that joined Canada from sea to sea, and fulfilled the terms of Confederation. Decisions in concert with the then Prime Minister Sir John A. MacDonald about the location of the railway, and therefore the pattern of settlement and growth of Canadian towns and cities, were made in this car. Next to it is Car #21, the Superintendent’s car. When the railway was completed, it became necessary to have some place in which the business of operating the railway could be carried on. This is one of two of only 22 Superintendent’s Cars ever built, to have survived.

The Museum also has  the largest indoor display of Allis-Chalmers equipment in the world.

Southport Building #12 houses an excellent Military Museum showcasing uniforms and artifacts from the Boer War to our present peacekeeping era.

Nearby is the Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame.

As well, there are numerous other buildings, and thousands of artifacts.

Directions:
Hwy. 1A & hwy. 26

+

Franklin Museum

Dominion City

Former Anglican Church, Gothic drum ceiling, largest fish caught in Manitoba.

Former Anglican Church, Gothic drum ceiling, largest fish caught in Manitoba.

Directions:
Centennial Drive

Phone:
(204)427-2281

+

Gilbert Plains Museum and Tourist Information Centre

Gilbert Plains

Gilbert Plains Museum and Tourist Information Centre (GILBERT PLAINS) houses a variety of local artifacts from early settlers of the area. Includes the community’s first hand‑pulled fire wagon, the original horse‑pulled fire wagon and the first motorized fire truck.

Gilbert Plains Museum and Tourist Information Centre (GILBERT PLAINS) houses a variety of local artifacts from early settlers of the area. Includes the community’s first hand‑pulled fire wagon, the original horse‑pulled fire wagon and the first motorized fire truck.

Directions:
Located at the corner of PTH5 (Parks Route) & Main St.

Hours:
Open daily, July to September.

Phone:
204-548-2382

+

Gladstone Museum

Gladstone

The Gladstone Museum showcases the history of the settlers of the Gladstone area. It is housed in Gladstone’s old Railway Station, and includes a CNR railway caboose. William Morton (1908-1980), Plaque at Gladstone Museum. Born near Gladstone on land homesteaded by his father’s...

The Gladstone Museum showcases the history of the settlers of the Gladstone area. It is housed in Gladstone’s old Railway Station, and includes a CNR railway caboose. 

William Morton (1908-1980), Plaque at Gladstone Museum. Born near Gladstone on land homesteaded by his father’s parents, W.L. Morton became one of Canada’s most distinguished writers of history. He believed that the historian’s duty was not simply to acquire facts, but to create and share an imaginative vision of the nation in which we live.

+

Heritage Complex

McCreary

The former CN rail station—with period furnished kitchen, waiting room and office—houses the 234 specimens of the Baker Butterfly Collection, the McCreary Point and the Norgate Story. From the office one can look north and south along the active track, as agents did since the opening of...

The former CN rail station—with period furnished kitchen, waiting room and office—houses the 234 specimens of the Baker Butterfly Collection, the McCreary Point and the Norgate Story. From the office one can look north and south along the active track, as agents did since the opening of the station in 1912. On this site sits the one‑room former Canal School, furnished with a variety of desks, textbooks and items spanning the years. Included are the histories of the seventeen rural schools that once operated in the area.

Hours:
Open daily during July and August, or by appointment.

Phone:
204-835-2542

Phone:
204-835-2582

+

Heritage North Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Thompson

See animals native to the area, a boreal forest diorama, First Nation and fur trade artifacts (including an authentic caribou hide tipi), fossils and mining artifacts at this Manitoba Star Attraction museum consisting of two log structures and an open-air blacksmith shop, Insitutional Archives and visitor information booth.
See animals native to the area, a boreal forest diorama, First Nation and fur trade artifacts (including an authentic caribou hide tipi), fossils and mining artifacts at this Manitoba Star Attraction museum consisting of two log structures and an open-air blacksmith shop, Insitutional Archives and visitor information booth.
Directions:
162 Princeton Drive

Hours:
Year-round, Monday to Saturday, 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm (winter) and daily 9:00 am - 5:00 pm (summer).

Phone:
204-677-2216

Fax:
204-677-8953

+

Horod School

Horod

Built in 1906 and now a provincial heritage site, the school still has its original teacherage and privies. Since its restoration, Horod School is now a museum. Horod is an ancient term for stockade or fort.

Built in 1906 and now a provincial heritage site, the school still has its original teacherage and privies. Since its restoration, Horod School is now a museum. Horod is an ancient term for stockade or fort.

Directions:
From PTH45, take PR354 north for 14.4 km (9 miles).

+

Immaculate Conception Church & Grotto

Cook's Creek  | Provincial Heritage Site

Our lady of Lourdes Grotto resembles a ruined castle with a large central cave.

Our lady of Lourdes Grotto resembles a ruined castle with a large central cave.

Directions:
Highway 212 & Zora Road.

Phone:
(204)444-2478

+

Jim's Vintage Garages

Headingley

The Headingley Heritage Centre’s “Jim’s Vintage Garages” Museum is open year-round, Monday to Friday from 8 am to 5 pm, and seven days a week during the summer months. This fascinating collection of automotive artifacts and antiques is a popular attraction for both young and old.
The Headingley Heritage Centre’s “Jim’s Vintage Garages” Museum is open year-round, Monday to Friday from 8 am to 5 pm, and seven days a week during the summer months. This fascinating collection of automotive artifacts and antiques is a popular attraction for both young and old.
Hours:
Open 7 days a week - May to September

+

Keeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation Sharing Lodge

Riding Mountain National Park

The firehall, a federal heritage building, has been preserved and tranformed into the Keeseekoowening Ojibway First Nation Sharing Lodge, which showcases the rich culture and history of the Keeseekoowenin people. Visit elders, youth, artists and community partners at Manitoba’s first Aboriginal‑run museum! For more information on programming, call or email.

The firehall, a federal heritage building, has been preserved and tranformed into the Keeseekoowening Ojibway First Nation Sharing Lodge, which showcases the rich culture and history of the Keeseekoowenin people. Visit elders, youth, artists and community partners at Manitoba’s first Aboriginal‑run museum! For more information on programming, call or email.

Directions:
Located at 126 Tawapit Drive.

Phone:
204-848-8494

+

Kenosewun Visitor Centre & Museum

Lockport

Archaeological site, artifacts of various Aboriginal groups.

Archaeological site, artifacts of various Aboriginal groups.

Directions:
Lockport Provincial Heritage Park

Phone:
(204)757-2902

+

Keystone Pioneer Museum

Roblin

Three historical buildings are on the property: the restored Elaschuk House, a designated provincial heritage site, features a thatched roof and clay walls and contains pioneer artifacts; Dunlop Cabin, a pioneer log home; and Makaroff United Church, built in 1910. A school room, general store,...

Three historical buildings are on the property: the restored Elaschuk House, a designated provincial heritage site, features a thatched roof and clay walls and contains pioneer artifacts; Dunlop Cabin, a pioneer log home; and Makaroff United Church, built in 1910. A school room, general store, hospital room, press room and café are staged in one large building. Antique machinery on display includes a 1915 Case steam engine, a restored Model T truck and a rare 1914‑15 Minneapolis tractor. Annually on the second Sunday in July, enjoy bread from a clay oven, horse-drawn buggy rides, a threshing demonstration, fiddling and more.

Directions:
Located 6 km (4 miles) east of Roblin on PTH5.

Hours:
Open May through early September, Monday to Thursday, 1‑5 pm. Group tours can be arranged by calling 204‑937‑2979.

Phone:
204-937-2935

+

La Galarie Riviere-aux-Rats

Saint-Pierre-Jolys

Metis & Francophone heritage and history.

Metis & Francophone heritage and history.

Directions:
located at 467 Sabourin Street.

Phone:
(204)433-7758

+

Lac du Bonnet House

Lac du Bonnet

Flags of our founding nations
Flags of our founding nations
Directions:
408 Lake Avenue

Phone:
204-345-2775

+

Le Musee du Vieux Presbytere

Sainte-Genevieve

Historic Catholic rectory, religious art and artifacts, wooden church.

Historic Catholic rectory, religious art and artifacts, wooden church.

Directions:
Lot 5, Saltel Street.

Phone:
(204)422-5670

+

Lundar Museum

Lundar

A caboose & jigger, two log houses (one from the late 1800’s), Mary Hill School, the Notre Dame church, CNR station & a CN tool shed are features telling the stories of life in this rural farming community. Artifacts on display include a variety of tools, furniture, farming & transportation equipment and assorted clothing & hous hold items. The church is designated as a library, with hundreds of books -- many in the Icelandic language. 

A caboose & jigger, two log houses (one from the late 1800’s), Mary Hill School, the Notre Dame church, CNR station & a CN tool shed are features telling the stories of life in this rural farming community. Artifacts on display include a variety of tools, furniture, farming & transportation equipment and assorted clothing & hous hold items. The church is designated as a library, with hundreds of books -- many in the Icelandic language. 

Hours:
Open 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Tuesday through Saturday in July & August.

Phone:
204-762-5281

+

Lynn Lake Mining Town Museum

Lynn Lake

The museum preserves artifacts from the history of this mining community, including items from the great move (Linn tractors and cat trains).
The museum preserves artifacts from the history of this mining community, including items from the great move (Linn tractors and cat trains).
Hours:
Open June to August.

Phone:
204-356-2418

Fax:
204-356-8297

Website:

+

Maison Chapelle

Saint-Malo

The Maison-Chapelle is an imitation of the first church ever built in St. Malo which houses Li Pchi Poste d'artisanat Metis (craft store) and a tourist centre.

The Maison-Chapelle is an imitation of the first church ever built in St. Malo which houses Li Pchi Poste d'artisanat Metis (craft store) and a tourist centre.

Directions:
Located at 21 103 PTH 59 (corner of PTH 59 & Beach Road going to the Provincial Park)

Phone:
(204)347-5765

+

Manitoba Agricultural Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Austin

The museum is a participant in the Cinnamon Bun Trail. Enjoy a "taste of history"—clay oven-baked cinnamon buns—on your visit to the Museum when you attend Senior's Day or the Threshermen’s Reunion. The oven can quickly bake large quantities for a crowd and adds a great, unique flavour, but it operates only on these special occasions.

The museum is a participant in the Cinnamon Bun Trail. Enjoy a "taste of history"—clay oven-baked cinnamon buns—on your visit to the Museum when you attend Senior's Day or the Threshermen’s Reunion. The oven can quickly bake large quantities for a crowd and adds a great, unique flavour, but it operates only on these special occasions.

Directions:
3 km (2 miles) south of the junction of Trans-Canada Highway 1 and PTH34.

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-637-2354

+

Manitoba Amateur Radio Museum

Austin

The Manitoba Amateur Radio Museum, on the grounds of the Manitoba Agricultural Museum south of Austin, is Canada’s only amateur radio museum, dedicated to collecting, preserving, researching and exhibiting articles of amateur radio and communication interest. Home of VE4ARM/VE4MTR.
The Manitoba Amateur Radio Museum, on the grounds of the Manitoba Agricultural Museum south of Austin, is Canada’s only amateur radio museum, dedicated to collecting, preserving, researching and exhibiting articles of amateur radio and communication interest. Home of VE4ARM/VE4MTR.
+

Manitoba Glass Works Historical Site

Beausejour

Site of the first glass factory in Western Canada.

Site of the first glass factory in Western Canada.

Directions:
1st Street & James

+

Marine Museum of Manitoba Manitoba Star Attraction

Selkirk

Who’d have expected a marine museum on the prairies? This historical attraction makes Selkirk a must-see for marine history buffs. You’ll have the opportunity to explore six restored ships that include the S.S. Keenora, Manitoba’s oldest steamship, built in 1897. Tour the ships to...

Who’d have expected a marine museum on the prairies? This historical attraction makes Selkirk a must-see for marine history buffs. You’ll have the opportunity to explore six restored ships that include the S.S. Keenora, Manitoba’s oldest steamship, built in 1897. Tour the ships to understand how travel by boat changed the prairie landscape. Imagine the times when travel by water led to the opening of the prairies 200 years ago. Located at the entrance to lovely Selkirk Park, a vital area in the settlement of the Red River by Lord Selkirk in 1812.
[GPS- N 50 08.062 W 097 19.640]

Directions:
Located at the corner of Queen Avenue and Eveline Street.

Hours:
Open 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday to Friday an 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. weekends and holidays, May through September. Group tours can be arranged.

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-482-7761

+

Medd House Museum

Winnipegosis

The 1912 grand two story wooden home is fully furnished and was the home to Dr. Medd, Winnipegosis' first doctor. Check out these websites www.winnipegosis.org & www.discoverwinnipegosis.com & www.mhs.mb.ca

.

The 1912 grand two story wooden home is fully furnished and was the home to Dr. Medd, Winnipegosis' first doctor. Check out these websites www.winnipegosis.org & www.discoverwinnipegosis.com & www.mhs.mb.ca

.

Hours:
June - September long weekend, Monday - Friday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. & 1p.m. - 5 p.m. Saturday & Sunday are by appointment.

Phone:
204-656-4273

+

Mennonite Heritage Village Manitoba Star Attraction

Steinbach

Museum, early homes, blacksmith shop, printery, general store, windmill, school, exhibits.

Museum, early homes, blacksmith shop, printery, general store, windmill, school, exhibits.

Directions:
Highway 12, 12 kms south of Hwy 1.

Phone:
(204)326-9661

+

Moggey's Cabin

Eriksdale

Come see how the only person to escape from Stony Mountain Penitentiary survived the winter in this “Home in the Wild” cabin north of Eriksdale. Built by the infamous Percy Moggey, hear the story of how he supplemented his meager food supplies while hiding from the
law. Call to arrange a tour.

Come see how the only person to escape from Stony Mountain Penitentiary survived the winter in this “Home in the Wild” cabin north of Eriksdale. Built by the infamous Percy Moggey, hear the story of how he supplemented his meager food supplies while hiding from the
law. Call to arrange a tour.

Phone:
204-739-2666

+

Moosehorn Heritage Museum

Moosehorn

Housed in the Masonic Hall in Moosehorn, museum includes the former CNR station-home to local artifacts, photos, farm machinery & technical equipment from the Canadian Forces Station at Gypsumville. Explore a replica of St. Thomas Lutheran Church and Buztynski Heritage House – a typical farm homestead from the 1900s, built with hand hewn logs harvested from the area.

Housed in the Masonic Hall in Moosehorn, museum includes the former CNR station-home to local artifacts, photos, farm machinery & technical equipment from the Canadian Forces Station at Gypsumville. Explore a replica of St. Thomas Lutheran Church and Buztynski Heritage House – a typical farm homestead from the 1900s, built with hand hewn logs harvested from the area.

Hours:
Open 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Tuesday to Saturday, July 2 through September 2.

Phone:
204-768-3788

+

Musee de Pionniers et des Chanoinesses

Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes

The Musée des Pionniers et des Chanoinesses houses hundreds of historical and cultural artifacts of early pioneers to the region; and highlights the Order of nuns knows as Chanoinesses Régulières des Cinq Plaies du Sauveur, who celebrated over 100 years of religious life in the community.
The Musée des Pionniers et des Chanoinesses houses hundreds of historical and cultural artifacts of early pioneers to the region; and highlights the Order of nuns knows as Chanoinesses Régulières des Cinq Plaies du Sauveur, who celebrated over 100 years of religious life in the community.
Hours:
Operation: Year Round  the miseum is open year round and offers guided tour in english and french Open: 10 t0 4 every day , weekend on demand Open saturday july and august

Phone:
204-248-2687

Fax:
204-248-2049

+

Musee Pointe-des-Chenes

Ste. Anne

Metis artifacts.

Metis artifacts.

Directions:
298 Centre Avenue

Phone:
(204)422-5639

+

Natural History Museum

Nutimik Lake

A log-constructed museum at Nutimik Lake houses displays on the boreal forest, Aboriginal peoples, petroforms, sturgeon and the Winnipeg River.

A log-constructed museum at Nutimik Lake houses displays on the boreal forest, Aboriginal peoples, petroforms, sturgeon and the Winnipeg River.

Hours:
Open daily May long weekend to September long weekend, 9 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.

+

New Iceland Heritage Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Gimli

Explore a unique chapter in Canada’s history at the New Iceland Heritage Museum in Gimli. The museum tells the story of New Iceland, a tract of land outside of the boundaries of the then “postage stamp” province of Manitoba. New Iceland had its own constitution for a period of 12...

Explore a unique chapter in Canada’s history at the New Iceland Heritage Museum in Gimli. The museum tells the story of New Iceland, a tract of land outside of the boundaries of the then “postage stamp” province of Manitoba. New Iceland had its own constitution for a period of 12 years before officially becoming a part of Canada. A ten minute film and dynamic exhibits bring this story to life. In keeping with the Viking connection of the early settlers costumes are on hand so you can discover your own inner Viking! In the 1,000 sq. ft. Stephan J. Stephanson Gallery at the New Iceland Heritage Museum we host several traveling exhibits throughout the year that portray a wide variety of historic and contemporary themes. A short walk from the museum along the beautiful shoreline of Lake Winnipeg will take you to Gimli’s towering Viking statue and to a buried York boat in a hill. Continue your walk through Gimli’s harbour where a thriving local fishing industry and recreational sail boats, power boats and yachts co-exist and to the museum’s second location; The Lake Winnipeg Visitor Centre – nestled beside the harbour, the natural history of Lake Winnipeg and the fishing industry are depicted through exhibits that include a 500 gallon fish tank and a 1940s whitefish boat.

Latitude:
50.630883

Longitude:
-96.986183

Phone:
204-642-4001

Website:

+

Philip's Magical Paradise

Giroux

Hands-on activities, magic and illusions show-casing famous magicians.

Hands-on activities, magic and illusions show-casing famous magicians.

Directions:
4.8 kms north of Steinbach on Hwy 12 & 8 Km E on Hwy 311.

Phone:
(204)326-5575

+

Pinewood Museum

Wasagaming

View a large array of artifacts, pictures and stories of the early pioneers who were instrumental in the development of Riding Mountain National
Park. Operated by the Riding Mountain Historical Society.

View a large array of artifacts, pictures and stories of the early pioneers who were instrumental in the development of Riding Mountain National
Park. Operated by the Riding Mountain Historical Society.

Directions:
Located at 154 Wasagaming Drive, one block east of The Trading Post.

Phone:
204-848-2810

+

Pioneer Museum

Saint-Malo

This museum explores life in a typical French Canadian village through exhibits and artifacts. It is open during the summer.

This museum explores life in a typical French Canadian village through exhibits and artifacts. It is open during the summer.

Directions:
Located in the former train station of the nearby village of Dufrost.

+

Pioneer Quest Cabin Tours

Argyle

Remember Pioneer Quest, the amazing History Television series depicting pioneer life on the prairies back in the 1800’s? Tour the cabins, see many of the everyday household items & tools that were used by the pseudo pioneers. Learn about the difficulties faced by the original settlers of this area. Walk the path on the historic Faith Trail [one of the old cart trails] that led settlers from modern day Portage & Main into the Interlake area.

Remember Pioneer Quest, the amazing History Television series depicting pioneer life on the prairies back in the 1800’s? Tour the cabins, see many of the everyday household items & tools that were used by the pseudo pioneers. Learn about the difficulties faced by the original settlers of this area. Walk the path on the historic Faith Trail [one of the old cart trails] that led settlers from modern day Portage & Main into the Interlake area.

Hours:
Site tours by appointment only.

Phone:
204-461-0579

+

Pioneer Village Museum

Beausejour

Re-creation of Pioneer Village log house, outdoor bake oven, vintage equipment.

Re-creation of Pioneer Village log house, outdoor bake oven, vintage equipment.

Directions:
Park Avenue, east & 7th Street

Phone:
(204)267-1357

+

Prairie Dog Central Railway Museum

Winnipeg

Ride the rails on this vintage train, comprised of five fully restored, historic wooden coaches from 1901-1913. The train is pulled by either an 1882 steam engine or a 1950’s diesel locomotive. Begin your trip at the heritage railroad station located at Inkster Junction in Wpg. This is one of...

Ride the rails on this vintage train, comprised of five fully restored, historic wooden coaches from 1901-1913. The train is pulled by either an 1882 steam engine or a 1950’s diesel locomotive. Begin your trip at the heritage railroad station located at Inkster Junction in Wpg. This is one of the oldest regular scheduled vintage trains in Canada, and a ride guaranteed to please every member of the family. Beware, though, that comfort was not a high priority in the day, but the fun more than makes up for it! Themed excursions & special functions. Charters are available May-October.

Directions:
Charters are available May-October

Latitude:
49.951583

Longitude:
-97.270400

Phone:
204-832-5289

Fax:
1-866-751-2348

+

Quarry Park Heritage Arts Centre

Stonewall

The Interlake’s newest museum/ heritage area is the Heritage Arts Centre at Quarry Park in Stonewall. The former historic site/museum burned to the ground in 2007, with this new magnificent building rising from the ashes to commemorate the importance of the limestone quarries. Embrace the history of stone and its role throughout the years or view the quarry from one of the balcony areas. Rental for meetings, weddings, theatre or gala productions are available.

The Interlake’s newest museum/ heritage area is the Heritage Arts Centre at Quarry Park in Stonewall. The former historic site/museum burned to the ground in 2007, with this new magnificent building rising from the ashes to commemorate the importance of the limestone quarries. Embrace the history of stone and its role throughout the years or view the quarry from one of the balcony areas. Rental for meetings, weddings, theatre or gala productions are available.

Phone:
204-467-7980

+

Riverton Transportation & Heritage Centre

Riverton

Formerly Aboriginal hunting grounds, the Riverton area was settled in 1876 by Icelandic settlers. It has a long history as a shipping destination by both rail & water (via the Icelandic River & Lake Winnipeg) for passengers routes & goods & services. Showing the importance of the fishing industry and the rail heritage this restored 1900’s CPR station tells the story of the Ukrainian and Icelandic peoples that settled this area. Call before planning a visit.

Formerly Aboriginal hunting grounds, the Riverton area was settled in 1876 by Icelandic settlers. It has a long history as a shipping destination by both rail & water (via the Icelandic River & Lake Winnipeg) for passengers routes & goods & services. Showing the importance of the fishing industry and the rail heritage this restored 1900’s CPR station tells the story of the Ukrainian and Icelandic peoples that settled this area. Call before planning a visit.

Latitude:
50.998017

Longitude:
-96.997233

Phone:
204-378-5369

+

Rossburn Museum

Rossburn

Features a replica Ukrainian village, with a model church and thatch‑roofed homes and buildings. Display items include Ukrainian artifacts, agricultural tools, a printing press, a pioneer kitchen, a period hairdressing salon and a school room.

Features a replica Ukrainian village, with a model church and thatch‑roofed homes and buildings. Display items include Ukrainian artifacts, agricultural tools, a printing press, a pioneer kitchen, a period hairdressing salon and a school room.

Directions:
Located on Cheddar Ave.

Phone:
204-859-2762

Phone:
204-859-2848 / 2429

+

Russian Orthodox Church of North America

Sifton

Built in 1926 close to the site of the Holy Ascension Orthodox Monastery, this architecturally unique church was nearly lost to history. It has been restored as part of the Prairie Churches of Manitoba project. The church houses the Canadian Orthodox Pioneer Museum with exhibits depicting early Slavic immigrant life. Guided tours and weekly programs available.
Built in 1926 close to the site of the Holy Ascension Orthodox Monastery, this architecturally unique church was nearly lost to history. It has been restored as part of the Prairie Churches of Manitoba project. The church houses the Canadian Orthodox Pioneer Museum with exhibits depicting early Slavic immigrant life. Guided tours and weekly programs available.
Directions:
Located on First Avenue SW.

Hours:
Please call for hours of operation, and information about guided tours and weekly programs.

Admission:
Admission is by donation.

Phone:
204-655-3224

Phone:
204-655-3481

+

Sagkeeng Museum

Pine Falls

Aboriginal art, handicrafts, model of Fort Alexander.

Aboriginal art, handicrafts, model of Fort Alexander.

Phone:
204-367-2129

+

Saint-Pierre-Jolys Museum

Saint-Pierre-Jolys

4-storey building formerly a convent, artifacts.

4-storey building formerly a convent, artifacts.

Directions:
432 Joubert Street North.

Phone:
(204)433-7226

+

Sam Waller Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

The Pas  | Provincial Heritage Site

The Sam Waller Museum, a Manitoba Star Attraction, is located at The Pas Community Courthouse, the oldest brick building in northern Manitoba, built in 1916. Designed to be multi-purpose, it was the centre for administration and justice in Manitoba's New North. In addition, it provided a centre for...

The Sam Waller Museum, a Manitoba Star Attraction, is located at The Pas Community Courthouse, the oldest brick building in northern Manitoba, built in 1916. Designed to be multi-purpose, it was the centre for administration and justice in Manitoba's New North. In addition, it provided a centre for social activity in the booming town of The Pas. The building was designated as a provincial heritage site in 1987, at which time renovations commenced to house the museum, which opened in 1994.

As the Museum website states, "A lifelong collector, Sam Waller called himself a "Pack Rat" and referred to his museum as a "Clutter-torium". Following in the tradition of the Victorian-era collector of oddities and curiosities, he amassed an astounding and eclectic array of unusual items over his lifetime. But more than a mere collector, Sam was also a dedicated and knowledgeable naturalist, a taxidermist, and a serious museum curator and teacher."

The museum's permanent collection contains over 70,000 items, including "natural history specimens, human history artifacts, books and library materials, photographs and negatives, fine art pieces and the archives of the Town of The Pas."

The museum houses a gift shop, meeting room, research library, and tourist information centre. 

Directions:
306 Fischer Avenue

Hours:
The Museum is open year-round, 7 days a week, except Statutory Holidays (Open Canada Day & August Civic Holiday). Regular hours: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm; open 10:00 am - 5:00 pm during July and August.

Phone:
204-623-3802

+

Sandilands Forest Museum

Hadashville

Forest ecology.

Forest ecology.

Directions:
South of Hwy 11.

Phone:
(204)453-3182

+

Selo Ukraina Ukrainian Heritage Village and Memorial Park

Dauphin

An outdoor 10,000‑seat amphitheatre, auditorium and multipurpose facilities offer a unique venue for festivals and entertainment such as Canada’s National Ukrainian Festival and Dauphin’s Countryfest. Located on the northern escarpment of Riding Mountain, the site includes a pioneer village and Ukrainian artifact museum. A memorial site pays tribute to historic people and events.  Call for tour information.

An outdoor 10,000‑seat amphitheatre, auditorium and multipurpose facilities offer a unique venue for festivals and entertainment such as Canada’s National Ukrainian Festival and Dauphin’s Countryfest. Located on the northern escarpment of Riding Mountain, the site includes a pioneer village and Ukrainian artifact museum. A memorial site pays tribute to historic people and events.  Call for tour information.

Directions:
Located 12 km (7 miles) south of Dauphin on PTH10.

Phone:
204-638-1345

+

Seven Sisters Museum

Whiteshell Provincial Park

Phone:
204-348-2846

+

Silver Creek Museum (Old Municipal Office)

Angusville

Work is underway to transform the RM of Silver Creek’s old municipal office into the new Silver Creek Museum. This may be the only old municipal office in Manitoba with a jail cell in the basement.

Work is underway to transform the RM of Silver Creek’s old municipal office into the new Silver Creek Museum. This may be the only old municipal office in Manitoba with a jail cell in the basement.

+

Snow Lake Mining Museum Manitoba Star Attraction

Snow Lake

This Manitoba Star Attraction museum houses a collection of mining artifacts, including drills, mucking machines, rescue equipment, and miner's clothing. Group tours welcome. Guided tours are available from late June until September long weekend.
This Manitoba Star Attraction museum houses a collection of mining artifacts, including drills, mucking machines, rescue equipment, and miner's clothing. Group tours welcome. Guided tours are available from late June until September long weekend.
Directions:
163 Poplar Street

Hours:
Call for hours of operation.

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-358-7867

Phone:
204-358-2551

+

Sprague & District Historical Museum

Sprague

Recreation of CNR telegraph office; historical displays of schools, churches, etc.

Recreation of CNR telegraph office; historical displays of schools, churches, etc.

Phone:
(204)437-2342

+

St. Andrews Heritage Centre

St. Andrews

"Knowing your past lets you plot your future." Their collection includes farm, household & personal artifacts from the early Red River Settlements. As the Red River area reaches its 200th Anniversary of Lord Selkirk’s settlers arriving we are reminded by these artifacts of the strength of...

"Knowing your past lets you plot your future." Their collection includes farm, household & personal artifacts from the early Red River Settlements. As the Red River area reaches its 200th Anniversary of Lord Selkirk’s settlers arriving we are reminded by these artifacts of the strength of character it took to settle this land. Collection includes a restored 1906 McLaughlin buggy, an original1929 wedding dress, armed services uniforms and sports memorabilia. "Tributes to the Past" bring history to life. Special events held Tartan Day, Manitoba Day, Canada Day & Veteran’s Day.

Directions:
Located at 6 Riverview Drive.

Latitude:
50.069217

Longitude:
-96.977650

Hours:
Open daily during July and August.

Phone:
204-738-4424

Reserve (Toll Free):
1-866-738-2264

+

St. Georges Museum

St. Georges

French Canadian area history, kitchen, living room displays, early settler antiques

French Canadian area history, kitchen, living room displays, early settler antiques

Directions:
120 km NE of Winnipeg off Highway 11

Phone:
204-367-8801

+

St. Joachim Museum

La Broquerie

Historic artifacts of the French & Belgian settlers. Located on the Recreation grounds.

Historic artifacts of the French & Belgian settlers. Located on the Recreation grounds.

Directions:
Recreation Ground.

Phone:
(204)424-9442

+

Swan Valley Historical Museum

Swan River

This complex includes a dozen historic display buildings along with the added rural touch of 15 acres of wheat and corn. Buildings include a blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, the original CN Railway station from Bowsman (built in 1896), and the original Benito telephone building. Artifacts include authentic clay bake ovens, and the Princess, which sailed with the Dawson Bay Fishing Fleet on Lake Winnipegosis.

This complex includes a dozen historic display buildings along with the added rural touch of 15 acres of wheat and corn. Buildings include a blacksmith shop, a trapper’s cabin, the original CN Railway station from Bowsman (built in 1896), and the original Benito telephone building. Artifacts include authentic clay bake ovens, and the Princess, which sailed with the Dawson Bay Fishing Fleet on Lake Winnipegosis.

Directions:
Located 1.6 km (1 mile) north of Swan River on PTH10.

Hours:
Open May ‑ September.

Phone:
204-734-3585

Phone:
204-281-0176

+

Teulon & District Museum

Teulon

Medical history lives in the three-story Dr. Hunter house, once a hospital and residence of the good doctor. Collections of books, medical tools, clothes and resources from the first doctor & hospital in this area. Located at the lovely 80-acre Green Acres Park in Teulon, you’ll find a...

Medical history lives in the three-story Dr. Hunter house, once a hospital and residence of the good doctor. Collections of books, medical tools, clothes and resources from the first doctor & hospital in this area. Located at the lovely 80-acre Green Acres Park in Teulon, you’ll find a Ukrainian log house with an outdoor bake oven, Teulon’s former shoe repair shop, railway caboose with both CNR & CPR displays, a Doll house, St. Mary’s Ukrainian Catholic Church c1920s, two schools and a large display of agricultural equipment. Teulon & District Museum Tea is held each July.

Directions:
Located in the Greenacres Park.

Phone:
204-886-2216

Fax:
1-204-886-3918

+

The Museum

Treherne

The Museum has one of Manitoba’s most complete blacksmith shops in working order, as well as one of the largest gun collections in western Canada. It is also home to several re-created Treherne businesses.
The Museum has one of Manitoba’s most complete blacksmith shops in working order, as well as one of the largest gun collections in western Canada. It is also home to several re-created Treherne businesses.
Directions:
183 Vanzile Street

+

Third Crossing Agricultural Museum

Gladstone

The Third Crossing Agricultural Museum features a wide variety of antique and restored farm machinery from the past 100 years, including an original pioneer home from the Gladstone area. A yearly highlight is the Annual Museum Threshing Days & Parade, which takes place on the 3rd weekend of August. Activities include the actual old-time threshing operations using equipment from the period, as well as a parade of vintage machinery and vehicles both Saturday & Sunday.
The Third Crossing Agricultural Museum features a wide variety of antique and restored farm machinery from the past 100 years, including an original pioneer home from the Gladstone area. A yearly highlight is the Annual Museum Threshing Days & Parade, which takes place on the 3rd weekend of August. Activities include the actual old-time threshing operations using equipment from the period, as well as a parade of vintage machinery and vehicles both Saturday & Sunday.
+

Treherne Museum

Treherne

Phone:
204-723-2621

+

Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Museum

Sandy Lake

This museum features artifacts from the original Riding Mountain settlement of 1899, including beautifully embroidered, handcrafted clothing. Also includes a display of traditional Ukrainian arts and crafts, with Easter eggs, wood carvings, traditional breads and more. A nearby replica log house is available for viewing, and outdoor clay ovens for bread‑baking operate during special events.

This museum features artifacts from the original Riding Mountain settlement of 1899, including beautifully embroidered, handcrafted clothing. Also includes a display of traditional Ukrainian arts and crafts, with Easter eggs, wood carvings, traditional breads and more. A nearby replica log house is available for viewing, and outdoor clay ovens for bread‑baking operate during special events.

Hours:
Open during summer and by appointment.

Phone:
204-585-2636

Phone:
204-585-2168 / 5314

+

Ukrainian Museum & Village

Gardenton

Family histories, 60 acre site with picnic area, barbeque, camping and fishing.

Family histories, 60 acre site with picnic area, barbeque, camping and fishing.

Directions:
Highway 209

Phone:
(204)425-3072

+

V. Gross Doll Museum & Gift Shop

Warren

If you’re a doll enthusiast or collector, you’ll be impressed by the assortment of dolls for viewing and sale. The museum hosts more than 4,000 dolls to view at any given time from their collection of 9,000 + dolls, one of the largest doll collections in the world! The life-like detail...

If you’re a doll enthusiast or collector, you’ll be impressed by the assortment of dolls for viewing and sale. The museum hosts more than 4,000 dolls to view at any given time from their collection of 9,000 + dolls, one of the largest doll collections in the world! The life-like detail in the bisque faces of the hand-painted antique dolls is amazing! Toys from all ages grace the shelves in the museum- many that bring back memories or start some tales of “do you remember those?” Hand-carved wooden decoys, animal figures, toys and collectibles available in the gift shop. Located northeast of Warren. Call for directions and tour information.

Directions:
Located 3 km (1.9 miles) north of PTH67 on Golf Course Road.

Latitude:
50.151067

Longitude:
-97.528650

Phone:
204-322-5346

+

Watson Crossley Community Museum

Grandview

The museum has a large collection from the early history of the community, including displays of antique automobiles and farm machinery, a pioneer home, rural school house, early settlers log house, old Ukrainian Orthodox Church, restored 1918 Rumley tractor, and refurbished 1927 Ottawa School House. Take Railway Ave. N. to Wilson Centennial Park. 

The museum has a large collection from the early history of the community, including displays of antique automobiles and farm machinery, a pioneer home, rural school house, early settlers log house, old Ukrainian Orthodox Church, restored 1918 Rumley tractor, and refurbished 1927 Ottawa School House. Take Railway Ave. N. to Wilson Centennial Park. 

Directions:
Take Railway Ave. N. to Wilson Centennial Park.

Hours:
Open 7 days a week, 10 am ‑ 5 pm, June 15 ‑ Sept.

Admission:
Admission charged.

Phone:
204-546-2066

Phone:
204-546-2764/2661

+

West Hawk Museum

West Hawk Lake

The West Hawk Museumis located adjacent to the campground office at West Hawk Lake and offers information on theWhiteshell’s geology, earlymining operations and the meteorite that created West Hawk Lake a hundredmillion years ago. The impact of a meteor that blasteda holedeepenough to bury the Manitoba Legislative Building is still a favourite diving spot because of its depth and clear water.

The West Hawk Museumis located adjacent to the campground office at West Hawk Lake and offers information on theWhiteshell’s geology, earlymining operations and the meteorite that created West Hawk Lake a hundredmillion years ago. The impact of a meteor that blasteda holedeepenough to bury the Manitoba Legislative Building is still a favourite diving spot because of its depth and clear water.

+

Whitemouth Municipal Museum

Whitemouth

The Whitemouth Municipal Museum is located in the town of Whitemouth and has been in operation since 1974. The museum’s motto has been “Preserve the past for the future generations”. Guided tours are offered.

The Whitemouth Municipal Museum is located in the town of Whitemouth and has been in operation since 1974. The museum’s motto has been “Preserve the past for the future generations”. Guided tours are offered.

Phone:
204-348-2300

+

Whiteshell Trappers Museum

Rennie

The Whiteshell Trappers Museum near Rennie has interpretive demonstrations on the history of trapping in the area.

The Whiteshell Trappers Museum near Rennie has interpretive demonstrations on the history of trapping in the area.

Phone:
204-345-9107

+

Winnipegosis Museum

Winnipegosis

The Winnipegosis Museum is closed for renovations during the 2012 season, but the Medd House Museum is open. Built in 1912 by George Bellamy and purchased in 1914 by Dr. Medd on his marriage to Agnes McArthur, this house is a grand two‑storey wood home, one of the last of its kind in Winnipegosis. It served as a family home and also the first hospital and surgery. The home contains period furniture and also exhibits of military, Aboriginal and early immigrant artifacts.

The Winnipegosis Museum is closed for renovations during the 2012 season, but the Medd House Museum is open. Built in 1912 by George Bellamy and purchased in 1914 by Dr. Medd on his marriage to Agnes McArthur, this house is a grand two‑storey wood home, one of the last of its kind in Winnipegosis. It served as a family home and also the first hospital and surgery. The home contains period furniture and also exhibits of military, Aboriginal and early immigrant artifacts.

Hours:
Open Tuesday‑Friday, 9 am ‑ Noon, and 1‑4 pm.; Saturday and Sunday by appointment.

Admission:
Admission fee.

Phone:
204-656-4318

Phone:
204-656-4273

+

Woodlands Pioneer Museum

Woodlands

This Municipal museum houses a collection of original buildings consisting of two schools, pioneer log cabin and St. Luke's Anglican Church from the Poplar Heights area-where occasional church services are still held. These buildings form a mini pioneer town town of regional history c1850 to the present, with the six buildings, including an assortment of agricultural artifacts.Located in Woodlands. Call for info and hours.

This Municipal museum houses a collection of original buildings consisting of two schools, pioneer log cabin and St. Luke's Anglican Church from the Poplar Heights area-where occasional church services are still held. These buildings form a mini pioneer town town of regional history c1850 to the present, with the six buildings, including an assortment of agricultural artifacts.Located in Woodlands. Call for info and hours.

Phone:
204-383-5589

+

World's Second Largest Smoking Pipe

Saint-Claude

The World’s Second Largest Smoking Pipe was constructed in commemoration of early settlers who came from Saint-Claude in the Jura region of France, where the main industry was the manufacture of smoking pipes. This smoking pipe is 6 metres long, 1.5 metres high, and weighs 195 kilos. There is a display of 45 different types of smoking pipes at the Museum.
The World’s Second Largest Smoking Pipe was constructed in commemoration of early settlers who came from Saint-Claude in the Jura region of France, where the main industry was the manufacture of smoking pipes. This smoking pipe is 6 metres long, 1.5 metres high, and weighs 195 kilos. There is a display of 45 different types of smoking pipes at the Museum.
+